It just sort of clicked

I have been having trouble concentrating on lace patterns. Alot of trouble. I thought it was because I was being a lazy lout, but Saturday evening I was working on the stealth project and realized I’m blocked.  At first, I was very upset. Very. Then, I thought that maybe I ought to take it easy for a bit until I feel that I want to sit and work on the lace.  It’s really simple, but as is usual with me, I missed the signs.  My Mom has started talking to me during a television show or knitting lace.  I can be smack in the middle of a complicated chart and she’ll say something and wait for a response.  I had been close to losing my temper, but she can’t help herself, so it’s me that needs to adjust.  In other words, no involved lace for a bit.  It’s not just a chart, but the counting and concentration.  I love lace, so it’s not going to be going far, but it will be put on the back burner for a bit.  Unless, of course, it’s a super simple design.

I did spend time this weekend washing “Grant”, my fleece.  It’s very hard to clean it now.  The lanolin is sticky so it’s taking several washings and that slows down the process (justbecausetheidiotwiththefleecedidn’tdoitearly).  I have no pictures to show, because the wind was blowing so hard all weekend that I couldn’t get a shot without chasing the fleece down.  Yes, it was really that windy.  So, I’m afraid that the small amount that I got done will wait for its photo-shoot until the winds die down and the front comes through.  I’m still doing it, but am learning as I go.  It’s quite satisfying, but I’m not sure if I’ll do this again for some time.  Either that, or go for a much smaller fleece than that of a ram.

I hope your weekend was enjoyable and your Monday is good.  I do apologize for the Friday video.  By the time I got your comments, I couldn’t get it to show up either.  No clue why, so we’ll just mosey on.  I’ll leave you today with my soundtrack.  Ten Years After and “Goin Home” from Woodstock, no less.  Enjoy

Have a good one!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It just sort of clicked

  1. margene says:

    Lace is difficult! I’m having trouble with my sweater edging while knitting with another person in the room and finally had to start a sock.

    Love that video and have seen it (in the movie) many times. I could watch it over and over! It’s the Ten Years After/Alvin Lee I have stuck in my head. It’s a well put together video, too. In fact I opened another window with your blog so I could comment and keep listening. 😉 Happy Monday!!

  2. joyknits says:

    Hope you can find some “auto pilot” knitting to fill the gap. I’ve noticed I do a lot of nearly subconscious counting as I knit 😉 Good luck with the fleece – the forecast doesn’t sound promising for drying anything for the first part of the week!

  3. marianne says:

    I hear you on the lace knitting with people about, I’ll arse it most times… but I’m thinking you could really crank out the socks (simple ones) whilst hanging with your mom, eh?
    I’ve never washed a fleece and since I’m still in my first year of spinning… I know there will come the day :^)
    Happy Monday!
    XOXOX

  4. Annie says:

    I always use Mom as my excuse why I can’t knit lace, but really it’s probably just because I have the attention span of a gnat. I keep looking at Rusty Nail from Knittyspin (winter or fall?) and thinking I might be able to do that.

  5. Beth in St.C says:

    I didn’t wash any fleece this weekend, but I did try to card the sandy fleece. The results were disappointing; more research on Ravelry for me. I flick-carded the longer lamb fleece lock I washed, and I think I’m going to be in love — provided I can get the year-old lanolin color off the tips. I now wish I had eight pounds of the lamb fleece and only three pounds of the sandy Targhee. At least it’s a learning experience, and maybe the next fleece I can buy in person.

    The wind was strong at our house too; I had to sit on the fleece waiting to be carded to keep it from ending up in the lakes. Unfortunately the wind didn’t blow all the sand out for me. I did get to sit on our front porch and spin while listening to the blues festival down the street.

    Maybe lace can wait until your mom goes to bed? My husband is very considerate about waiting if I’m obviously counting stitches, but it’s still easier to just work on something simpler if I’m watching TV with him. I work on the more involved patterns when he’s busy on his computer.

  6. Cookie says:

    I feel you on the lace. I have had to rip and tink back a few times on a lace sock because my mother is yammering on. Yes, I’m a terrible daughter, but I’m okay with that. ;^)

    *hugs*

  7. karyn says:

    are you on facebook? if so, look me up! we just got a new computer, and i’m putting all kinds of videos on it. great fun!

    i have no patience for lace!

  8. Nora says:

    It is impossible to knit lace when someone is talking to you. I agree with Joy – take up a mindless project that busies your hands but not your brain.

Leave a Reply

