EZ was right…….again

Yup. She was right. Knit through the tears. That’s what I have been doing, sort of. I have alot of times when I just sit looking straight ahead and woolgather. But, for the most part, other than the grieving, I’m doing pretty well. Poor little pup, Grover, is still having a bit of trouble, but I notice he’s pulling out his toys a bit more now and I consider that a good sign.  I have found that other than the sorting “project” I have yet to tackle, I have a whole lot more time.  That has translated into knitting time.  I cast on the “Simple Lace” shawl by Anne Hanson (I’ve had the pattern forever) in the Beaverslide Dry Goods cone I got in the Thimbleberry colorway.  I’m still working on it, but it has been the perfect companion for me.  That, plus the other Tonks/Opal sock, and that’s been my knitting for the past week.

I’m unable to look at PurplePi right now, but will make a final decision on her very soon.  She was for Mom, so I honestly don’t think I’ll complete her, but the final decision has yet to be made.  Still, I don’t want to wait too long.  I still have Margene’s and my BSIL’s needles and want to get it back to them, so  I’ll keep you posted.

What else?  Summer has refused to settle in here in Middle Earth.  We have 90’s and then the temps drop to the 70’s.  Alot of rain.  Other than the allergies, I really don’t mind it.  Cooler than normal so far.  Weird, but ok.

I was going to take pix of knitting and flowers and stuff, but noticed the camera batteries are dead.  It’ll wait.

And, my soundtrack for today???  I’ve been hearing Pentangle in my head lately.  Here’s “Light Flight”.

Have a good one!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to EZ was right…….again

  1. Nora says:

    So good to see a post from you, Cindy! Be kind to yourself. There’s no rush to get anything done.

  2. Emiko says:

    Good to hear from you. I’m glad knitting is helping you through a difficult time and I hope Grover’s doing better too.

    I’ve been working on the first half of a pair of socks since last August. I’m trying to finish it before it becomes the ‘year-long’ sock 🙂

    Take care and I’m thinking of ya 🙂

  3. JulieC says:

    You and Grover and your knitting — a good team. Glad to “hear” from you (well, I guess with your song of the day, we really did hear from you). I recently purchased a skein of the Tonks sock yarn — pretty sure I was inspired by your picture of the 1st sock back in … April? (I had gotten way behind in blog reading, and was catching up blog by blog.) It is a really fun colorway (not that I’ve started knitting with it). Hmm, I’m about to create a shortage of parentheses at the rate I’m going.

  4. margene says:

    It’s wonderful to hear your voice and that you’re taking the time you need to grieve. There is no time table. We’re here, willing to listen if you need us, but we’ll wait when you need a break. You and Grover will find your footing bit by bit. He sounds like a nice companion.

  5. marianne says:

    You’ve been in my daily thoughts and yes, EZ was right, once again. and yes, be kind to yourself, this grieving business really cuts to the heart of matters, let it be and take your time.
    Sitting and staring off into space, wool-gathering, totally acceptable behavior.
    PurplePi… words really fail me here. I was well aware it was for your mum, it was also a part of the heartache I was feeling for you. That said, it’s your decision to finish or not (duh, of course) but oh mercy, I hope it either gets finished or stays as it is (but bound off). see? I feel like I’ve put my foot into it and I apologize.
    You can tell me to shut up and mind my own business :^)
    Big hugs to you and Grover Boy.

  6. Beth in StC says:

    It’s good to see you here. You and Grover and Mum have been in my thoughts lately.

    I can understand the Purple Pi being too painful to work on; I’ve had projects that seem to be imbued with the pain of the time I knitted them. I have to admit, I’ve finished my ICU Waiting Room socks, but I’m still not sure I’ll ever wear them. They look perfectly wearable, but they’re tight with worry and fear.

    Maybe more time will make the decision to finish or not a little more clear. If you’re worried about the needles, maybe you could slip PP off onto a string stitch-holder for a little while? Knitting can be very patient.

  7. Cookie says:

    There you are! I’ve been thinking about you. I’m glad you and Grover are looking after each other.

    No rush to decide on the Purple Pi. You could put her on a lot of waste yarn, return the needles, and let her rest a while in a bag. I’m sure she will speak to you when she’s ready.

    xo

  8. heideho says:

    Don’t worry about the sorting or Purple Pi, etc. That will all happen when you’re ready. Glad to hear that Grover is getting out his toys. I’m glad you have each other to help out with the loss. Make sure and get out (besides work) now and again too. Hugs from far away.

  9. Wendy says:

    Nice to hear how you and Grover are doing. Hugs from me, too.

  10. joyknits says:

    Good to hear from you! You and Grover and EM take care of each other – the sorting and all will come with time. Hugs!

  11. crafterscupboard says:

    So glad to see a post from you. Tucker and I talk every day about how Aunt Cindy and Cousin Grover may be doing. 😉 I’ve always believed that people grieve in their own way and we just let them take it one step at a time. I’ll be here when you need a reader.

    I am with the others in thinking that putting “Miss Pi” on a waste yarn and letting her rest until she’s ready to tell you what she want’s to become is a good idea. You knit so much love into every stitch of that shawl that I think she’s worthy of the time. In the end it doesn’t matter what I think…..lol, you’ll do what’s best. You have in the past.

    I hope Em’s doing well too. Take care dearie.

Leave a Reply

