Srsly, folks, I have a finished object

I finished the Tonks socks!!!! Yes. Really. I did. They were part of a KAL that I signed up for….to knit a pair of socks each quarter. I’m a quarter behind, but it doesn’t matter because I finished the Tonks socks!!!!    And, yes, thank you for noticing they are fraternal twins.  I love ’em.

june282009 002

Now, lest you think I’m slacking (any more than normal anyway),  here is the next pair of take-a-long socks.  It’s the Seaside colorway Lorna’s Laces that Peanut got me in Chicago.  I love how they’re knitting up.

june282009 003

Cool, huh?

I have also cast on for BSIL’s Christmas gift.  This is only about the 9th time I have cast on for this *@!)*( thing.  Now, I’m mad and I refuse to give up.  I spent Sunday morning knitting and ripping four different times.  It’s going relatively well now, but I’m not going to get over-confident.  I wish I could show it to you.  The yarn is beginning to get a bit worn out at the beginning, but now I’m into the “neverbeforerippedbutthere’sstill time” sections.

Other than the sock news and the gift knitting, I don’t have much to show for my weekend.  I’m trying to be good to myself and allow myself the time I need to heal.  This was a weekend of doing little things for me, like spending Sunday knitting.  Of course, the pup gets in on the action.  I think I could get a Rat Terrier or Maltese from his fur.  Here is a pile of excess fur next to the boy from Sunday.  I got the same size (or a bit bigger) pile from him on Saturday.  The heat has him shedding like mad. That, plus he had a tummy problem on Sunday and so he kinda just hung out and rested.

june282009 001

BTW, our heat has broken.  It was in the 80’s yesterday and is supposed to be in the mid to upper 80’s all week.  It’s wonderful.  No more whining (at least about the heat, right?).

My soundtrack today is from Hair.  “Where do I go?”

Have a good one!!!!!!!

P.S.  I started putting PurplePi on waste yarn.  I’m not off even one needle and have 700 stitches.  Be afraid.  Be very afraid;-P

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Srsly, folks, I have a finished object

  1. margene says:

    How nice your heat broke! I think it moved in here. You need to do little things for yourself all the times. You deserve your attention. If it takes a year, or two or three, to grieve then that’s what it takes. XOXO

  2. marianne says:

    I LOVE those socks! They’re all happy and cheerful! and the Seasides are very cool with their striping.
    What’cha makin’ for BSIL? (I know you can’t post it here… but curious minds and all)
    I’m very glad to hear you’re taking care with yourself, being kind to yourself and taking the time. and on that note, be kind and patient with PurplePi too. There’s a lot of love in those existing stitches. I so want to hear the total stitchcount though.
    Yesterday was fabulous. We hit 92F but with a breeze and it was just lovely! Our temps are warmer than yours, 90s this week but so much better than those triple digits.
    Hey, Handsome Grover! Wanna play?
    XOXOX

  3. Joy says:

    Love the socks – they’re definitely bright & cheery. I gave up on anything but fraternal twins with that sort of yarn a long time ago, but they’re fun that way 😉

    *Much* nicer temps this week! We’ve got piles and piles of fur here too.

  4. heideho says:

    Tonks rock! Those socks should cheer you up during long, gray winter days… like sunshine for your feet. I love Grover. You definitely need to start saving his fur. Hope you have a wonderful week.

  5. sophanne says:

    Those socks are great- Grover’s hair- holy furball batman-

    Mr. Sophanne’s on vacation. He’s playing his conga drums to get the dog to dance. We don’t have the heat but we’ve got the weirdness that comes with it.

  6. Peanut says:

    The Seaside socks are looking so good! I was wondering how they would knit up….

    And I want to know the final stitch count. 700 so far! Ridiculous. I think you just convinced me never to do a ruffle edge.

  7. Emiko says:

    yeah for FOs! I love fraternal socks 🙂 Love the seaside colourway you’re knitting too – look at you go – you’re gonna put me to shame!!! I thought you were my friend 😉

    Looks like a nice week over here, which means I can bike in to work, which is nice (althoug I’m definitely out of shape!). That’s a lot of fur off of Grover! I’ve been brushing my kitty and my boyfriend’s trying to make me save it so that I can spin it into yarn LOL 🙂

  8. Nora says:

    Fabulous socks!! (Don’t try wearing them in the heat…)

    xo

  9. Newly back from a road trip and no time to post…but wanted to send you a comment!!!

    Love the socks and so glad to see you getting the satisfaction of FO !!!! YAY!!! I’m just getting my knitting mojo back, but I’ll post on that later……(famous last words!) I really like how the Seaside socks are coming out. How’s that happening? Is there really long colors with white on either side of the colors? DO give insight please. lol

    Thanks for showing our boy too. I love to see his pictures, but really…that’s nothing in the shedded hair dept! To be fair, he is a house dog so he doesn’t build quite the undercoat Tucker does. lol I’ve been working on shedding Tucker out as with our heat he’s dropping coat like crazy too. It’s an ongoing seemingly neverending process here. I’ll send you some pics to make you feel better. I’m just glad my vac doesn’t have to deal with it. lol. Kiss the big goober dog for me and hugs to you and Miss Em too. 🙂 Awaiting something special before I send your package your way…so don’t hold your breath, k?

Leave a Reply

