Wow. The economy affected July 4th!

I gotta tell you, I didn’t really expect it to affect the 4th. Those folks that love fireworks and will spend a paycheck on it usually will do so, even if they don’t really have it. Not this year. Sure, there were fireworks, but not like in the past. By 11:00 Saturday night, it was all over. Not sure about the fat lady. I fell asleep.  Grover and I went over to my BB and BSIL’s and enjoyed ourselves.  We moseyed on home about 7:00 and hung out until I got tired and went to bed.    I didn’t see Esau Marie until Sunday afternoon.  The weather was unusually cool and damp.  Now, a heat up.  It is July and it is Middle Earth.  Still, I got a feel for the fall and I liked it.  I am still knitting away on the stealth project, but have come to the realization that I need to concentrate on it and cannot watch television.  No big deal.

I’m also working on the red scarf.  I need to get a shot of it and show you.  I am slow, so it takes me a while to get very far.  Still, it is pretty and I feel good about it.  I was blessed with a wonderful and loving Mom and Dad.  It’s good to pass a bit of that love along.

I feel dull and uninteresting.  I really do.  Weekends are the hardest for me, so I think I will blog Tuesday and not Mondays.

My soundtrack for today?  How about the Four Tops and “Baby, I Need Your Lovin'”

Have a good one!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Wow. The economy affected July 4th!

  1. margene says:

    We were amazed at how “good” everyone was and only celebrated (with lots of noise) on the 4th. The dogs were very happy. If it was up to them they’d like the economy to stay bad.

  2. Sophanne says:

    Lj sat by the chair quaking. And then spent Sunday jumping out of her fur at the slightest sound. I too noticed less of the m80 experience. I think you found the upside to the downturned economy.

  3. marianne says:

    Poor EM. Giver her a little extra soothing for me.
    We did our usual traditional gathering at friends, small and getting smaller, managed some good eatin’, visiting, then walked across the street to our usual empty lot to watch the display. Unbeknownst to us, ‘they’ had started early and then there was some mishap, which resulted in a whopping 13 minutes (maybe) of display, of which I saw about 30 seconds of and it was over. I’m with you though, an awful lot of money goes up in smoke on our national holiday, and in these times I think that money could be spent more wisely. but then I’ve always thought that.
    We shouldn’t speak of all the asshats throughout the neighborhoods doing their own displays and leaving all the trash. curses.
    Hugs to you, Sweets. Tuesday morning will be delightful.
    XOXOX

  4. heideho says:

    Pyrotechniques are best left to professionals imo. I felt horrible for the volunteer fire fighters where my parents live. The nearby Indian reservation sold their usual plunder to idiots who proceeded to blow them up without consideration of where they were or what was nearby. Those poor firemen and firewomen put out brush fires in the sand dunes until about 6:00 am on the fifth. It would be more tolerable if part of the revenue from the fireworks sold went to support them in their efforts. The water truck they use is from 1962 and the poor old thing barely putts its way to the scene. Anyway, we had very little in the way of debris to pick up back at our own home. In years past the neighbors’ fireworks garbage could be found in bushes for months after the event. Poor Esau Marie. Hope you have a great week.

  5. Cookie says:

    Same here. Much quieter 4th. Such a nice change.

    Looking forward to seeing your red scarf.

    Happy Monday!

  6. Emiko says:

    Poor Frankie’s first Fourth w/ us turned out to be a frightening one – we didn’t have it going on until 3am, but it was well past midnight when they were still going off. As soon as he heard them, he walked as close to the ground as he could as he crawled under the bed. As hot as it was indoors, I closed the door to the bedroom, turned on the radio to some soothing classical music and hoped for the best – didn’t see Frankie until the next morning, so I feel for Esau Marie too. I worry every year about whether the house will burn down and now a cat scared of fireworks/loud noises.

    It’s been too dang hot here to be knitting, but I did get some yarn (and Cookie’s new book) today, so maybe that’ll help light a fire under my arse to knit 🙂

  7. Nora says:

    I think things were less crazy here, too. I don’t know if was an economy thing, though – it just seemed like there weren’t quite as many people out and about.

Leave a Reply

