‘Tis a gift….

July192009 002

This intenet blogging world is a special place for me.  I have no readers that are insensitive or judgmental.  All are considered  friends.  The death of my Mother brought home to me, once again, that you don’t have to meet someone face to face to care about them.  I got this shawl from Margene shortly after Mom died.  It was her “hug” from afar.  I wanted to model the shawl for the post, but after realizing that I have the focus of a 3 year old and the memory of a 200 year old, if I was ever going to blog about it I had best just get a good shot of the shawl for you all.  Maybe, just maybe, some day I can remember and get a shot modeling it for you.  I have worn it already.  I will wear it alot.  It is the Ulmus shawl.  I had admired it when Margene was working on it and based on her awesome rendition, I had purchased the pattern.  Not a week later, this gorgeous shawl arrived on my doorstep with chocolate (and raspberry……orgasmic) and the best wild cherry green tea I have ever had.  That, and her handmade card.  I was and am overwhelmed by her generosity with her raw materials and her time.

The kindness of my dear friend touched me so deeply I cannot find words to describe my gratitude….not just for the shawl and gifts, but for her friendship.  Thank you, Margene, from the bottom of my heart.

And, in honor of her (and, because I like it too;-), here’s Mr. Bob Dylan and a terrific old video of “Times They are a Changin'”.

Have a good one!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to ‘Tis a gift….

  1. Rachel says:

    What a wonderful gift and a wonderful friend. That shawl is perfect for the almost chilly nights we’ve had the last few days. Monday *hug*!

  2. margene says:

    Oh sweetpea! You have been the best of friends to me. I’m listening to Bob sing while I type and remain ever grateful of our friendship across the miles. I can only hope we have the chance to meet in person one day soon!

  3. Emiko says:

    That’s such a lovely gift – so, so thoughtful to send you a ‘hug from afar’ (I love that expression!).

    It’s been nice and really unusually hot around here.. someone please bring us back the mid 70s temps!!! 🙂

    Wishing you a wonderful week!

  4. Annie says:

    What a beautiful shawl! What a beautiful friend! What a beautiful friendship!

  5. heideho says:

    What a gorgeous, gorgeous shawl. You bring out the best in everyone Cindy.

  6. Nora says:

    So beautiful – thanks for sharing!

  7. Cookie says:

    Lovely shawl and a wonderful friendship.

  8. marianne says:

    With the heartbreaking sadness in life also comes (and usually riding fast on its tail) the heart-stopping sweetness, they can both take our breath away. Life really has its fine moments,eh?
    Beautiful shawl, I remember when she was knitting it and thinking ‘how lovely!’… I’m so glad and happy that you’re getting those hugs :^)
    That Margene… she’s a truly awesome exceptional human being and it shows in everything she ‘says’ and does. Sweet.
    missed you :^)
    xoxox

  9. sophanne says:

    isn’t it a wonderful world.

Leave a Reply

