Hot with a 100% chance of humidity

Been just a tad toasty and humid here.  The toasty isn’t intolerable.  The humidity is.  It is August so I don’t know what I expect, but getting used to it after our July is turning out to be hard.  The weekend was good though.  I have mentioned before that I feed the birds.  This summer, I have gone through suet like nobody’s business.  I have made it.  A 13″x9″ pan last 3 days.  I finally broke down yesterday and drove to the Wild Birds store and bought 6 cakes of suet.  It should last me a month.  Yet, the store suet ends up being less expensive than my homemade.  I used the no-melt recipe so it adds up pretty fast.

I signed up for Susan’s (I’m Knitting as Fast as I Can)birthday KAL for her Feather Duster shawl pattern on Ravelry.  It’s a terrific pattern and I was working in the Silken Kydd from Elann.  Note the past tense.  I have miscounted stitches on the needles and ripped and restarted four times.  The PissyFairy came by and now the yarn no longer rips and I have had to throw away about 3″ of knitting because of the mohair.  I wound a ball of Dreams in Color Baby in the “Beachfog” colorway and restarted. Now, I am completely in love and I’m determined, but finally realized I was setting myself up for disaster.  The Silken Kydd is a dark Port wine color.  What was I thinking?

Now, Leonard Cohen is coming to St. Louis in November.  My cousin, Ellen, is coming down and she, my BSIL and I are all going to see him.  I’m looking forward to it.  First off, I adore my cousin Ellen.  Secondly, I love every song Leonard Cohen has written.  And, his singing voice has improved with age.  In his honor, here is Rufus Wainwright and “Hallelujah”.

I love this version.  Have a good one!

Well, since Rufus doesn’t want us hearing him sing Leonard’s song, how about the man himself?  Mr. Leonard Cohen

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Hot with a 100% chance of humidity

  1. margene says:

    That is such a great song and my favorite version is by Jeff Buckley. I’ve heard Rufus sing it too and he does do it well. What a great time you’ll have seeing a legend like Leonard!
    Mohair is a bitch. You’ll love the Dream in Color. I started several times and have had to fudge here and there, too. FINALLY after six repeats, I’m in a groove.

  2. marianne says:

    I hear you loud and clear re: the heat and humidity.
    ok, huh? I don’t get it, clearly I’ve missed something. Why does the colour of the Silken Kidd equal possible disaster now that you’re knitting with ‘Beachfog’?
    What a lot of lucky women! Leonard. and I love this song.
    I’ll have to check out Rufus. My favourites are from the man himself and Jeff Buckley.
    Happy Monday, darlin’.

  3. Emiko says:

    Are you saying Red/burgundy is the PissyFairy’s favorite colors? 🙂

    I’m still afraid of KALs.. someday though, someday, I’ll sign up for one.. but we’ll see.

    It’s been awhile since I’ve been to any concert…there’s nothing like seeing some of your fave performers live – sounds like you’ll have a blast!

    Happy Monday.. let’s get this show on the road, shall we? 🙂

  4. Annie says:

    Give that Pissyfairy a boot in the bottom! The port wine color was dark and difficult to see? Is that why it was a disaster?

  5. Cookie says:

    Honey, it’s too hot/humid to be knitting with anything fuzzy. No good will come of it. I’m so glad you have moved on to the fake baby yarn.

    xo

  6. Rachel says:

    It’s official, everyone I know is going to that concert. Have fun! I’ve learned that Cohen fans don’t think it is funny when I say “Leonard who?”

Leave a Reply

