OK. Somebody is taking my weekends and it has to stop!

Good morning all!! Yes, it is Monday and I have no idea how it got here so fast.  I’m losing patience with this whole chronology thing.  At least, I hope you had a good weekend.  I did.  It’s a bit fall like here in Middle Earth.  We here in M.E. are accustomed to August weather being in the upper 80’s during the day and 70’s at night with occasional spikes into the 90’s.  I awakened yesterday to 63F and it soared to a high of 71F.  It feels just like fall.  The light looks like fall.  It’s weird and interesting and cool at the same time.  I also saw an eagle on my street.  The little songbirds were giving it what for.  At first I thought it was a Red Tail Hawk, but this bird was wayyyyyyy too big.  I watched it and when it turned its head, I knew for sure it was a bald eagle.  Amazing.  I held my breath watching it.  Then, we have had a small barn owl in our back yard the past two nights.  Hunting.  It just watches my Grover and has absolutely no interest in me.  Of course, I cannot imagine what it could fear from either one of us.  And, it doesn’t.

Aug12009 008

So, Esau Marie has decided once again that she absolutely positively must sleep with her Grover.  He, in turn, wants nothing to do with her.  The dilemma is this.  I’m sleeping.  Grover is sleeping.  Esau Marie has decided she absolutely positively must sleep with Grover this instant (about 3 a.m. usually).  She cuddles up to him.  He growls.  I spray her with water.  She runs away.  She’s gone for about 20 minutes and we start the process all over again.  I’m now pretty much sold that she is untrainable.  Didn’t take me very long did it.  She’s almost 7 years old and I’m just now figuring out that I cannot train her.

As I stated before, I hope you all a wonderful week and my soundtrack for this day is Uriah Heep and “Wizard”.  I’m a bit ambivalent about this one, but it is part of my youth so I shall include it.

Have a good Monday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Note there is no knitting discussed.  I did knit, but did not finish the Corrugator scarf.  It’s getting close, but so far, no cigar.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to OK. Somebody is taking my weekends and it has to stop!

  1. margene says:

    My weekend seemed to evaporate, too. Now, grrlfriend, do you honestly think you can train a cat?

  2. marianne says:

    It’s that ratbastard time-bandit striking again! curses on his ratty soul :^)
    Your temps are a few degrees cooler than what we’ve been having and yes, quite unheard of temps for this neck of the woods in August (I am LOVING it!)
    So… What would happen, I’m sure she’s going for his warmth, wanting to sleep with him. hmmm? Think they could settle their differences without taking each other out? (which is a horrible thought, I know)
    Happy Moon’s Day! XOX

  3. heideho says:

    I’m surprised that Grover doesn’t want her near him. He seems like the type who would welcome cuddles from anything and everything, regardless of species. What surprises is me is that Esau Marie seeks his attention. I tried the water bottle with my kids, but they liked it.

  4. Cookie says:

    We really need longer weekends, don’t we? Two days is not nearly enough time.

    You can train a cat, but it takes more than a spray bottle of water. ;^)

    xo

  5. Joy says:

    Never a dull moment with the critters around 😉

  6. sophanne says:

    weird and interesting and cool… what a truthism that is.

  7. Emiko says:

    I love that EM wants to cuddle up to Grover – I just always pictured the cat having the attitude and not wanting to be seen with a dog laying next to her 😉

    My boyfriend’s managed to semi “train” Frank when he’s playing with his favorite toy (anger mouse as we call it). We tied a red mouse to the end of some cotton yarn and on a bamboo stick. My boyfriend taps the stick and Frank goes to the spot to play mouse fishing 🙂 either that, or he’s tricking us into think we semi-trained him lol

    I’ve been draaaaaagging all today. At least there’s a 3 day weekend to look forward to this coming weekend 🙂

  8. Carrie says:

    Uriah Heep! I haven’t heard them for at least ten years. Must update my ITunes.

Leave a Reply

