The “World” Fiber Fest in Bethel, Missouri

It appears the world is a much smaller place than I imagined. We kept waiting for traffic, but it was pretty sparse. There were quite a few people there, but not the crowd I was expecting.

IMG_0036There  were animals.

IMG_0033There were sheep, but my only shot was sucky, so here’s an Angora bunny.

IMG_0034We found out that they pant like dogs when they are hot.  We were absolutely fascinated.  And, yes, that is incredibly soft fur.

We also made some purchases.  My BSIL bought alpaca sock yarn.  Lovely.  She’s not a spinner, so it was sparse pickin’s for her, but that’s ok.  They are currently fixing up their house, so she didn’t need or want to spend a great deal.  Peanut and I made up for her.  Here are my purchases.  I apologize, once again, for the really bad picture of the oriface hook, but I couldn’t do any better.  It is beautiful.

IMG_0045Peanut and I both bought 4 oz. of baby camel/silk roving.  The vendor had it on sale.  We were thrilled.  This is my first luxury blend, so I’ll have to work up to it;-P

IMG_0042I also got two bumps of Icelandic wool.  I have always wanted to try spinning it and buying it directly like this was a big thrill.

IMG_0040There.  Done with show and tell.  It was a lovely road trip.  The weather cooperated and we had a great time at the fest.  BTW, there was the absolutely best kettle corn there.  Amazing.

On your Monday, Labor Day.  Here’s Bob Seeger and “Travelin’ Man”.  When did he get so old??????

Have a good one!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The “World” Fiber Fest in Bethel, Missouri

  1. sophanne says:

    Hooray for being out and about- hooray for a smaller crowd than expected (as far as I’m concerned) and that camel/silk looks delicious.

    Thank God I didn’t age like Bob Seger.

  2. Joy says:

    Cool orifice hook! You’d better stash that camel/silk blend in a safe place – our critters only seem to be interested in the higher end stuff, not plain ol’ sheeps wool 😉

  3. Cookie says:

    Yay!

    I think it’s much better to go to a smaller quieter fiber event than try to survive something like Maryland, ya know?

  4. heide says:

    I’m positively drooling over the baby camel/tussah blend. It looks like the ribbon sugar candy from Christmas time. The icelandic looks quite fluffy and soft too. Love the orifice hook. You have wonderful tastes. When I go to places with lots of selection I always end up with garrishly bright colors because they stand out while at the event, only to get home and realize that they’re nothing that I’d really want to look at for long periods of time. You shan’t have that problem. Hugs to you and glad you had a lovely weekend.

  5. Rachel says:

    It is a small festival, but lovely. Plus they serve lamb for lunch so what’s not to like? I’m sorry I missed you there. I stayed home (boo!) and worked (double boo!)

  6. Emiko says:

    it sounds like the flock and fiber festival in Oregon I’ve been heming and hawing over whether to go. I probably shouldn’t because I’ve overspent a tad recently shall we say? 🙂

    Glad you had a great time and brought back some yummies for yourself. Look forward to seeing how some of that gets spun up!

    Here’s to a short week!

  7. marianne says:

    May be ‘small’ to you, yet it’s bigger than we had here, and it sounds like it just may well be ‘just right’ :^)
    Lovely hook, yummy camel/silk and the Icelandic? Very nice score!!!!! xox

  8. Oh so glad you had such a good time! Love the looks of that fiber and can’t wait to see what you do with it!

Leave a Reply

