hyperbole, hyperbole, hyperbole, hyperbole

I love the word hyperbole.  Hyperbole sounds like a rubber ball bouncing around in your mouth. Doesn’t it?  I love words.  I love the sounds of words.  Quixotic.  Ubiquitous.  Anomaly.  Anemone.  Bilious.  Blasphemous.  Cantankerous.  Dilapidated.  Malodorous.   Onomatopoeia.  Salacious.  All sound so wonderful regardless of their meanings.  I loved George Carlin, not for the profanity, but for his love of words.  What a giant.  Is there anybody out there to replace George Carlin or  Richard Pryor?  No.  I have not seen anybody with the universal appeal and intricate knowledge of the use and power of language since those two.  And why, you ask, am I even talking about this?  No clue.  Just a ramblin’ kinda gal, I guess.  It is Wednesday after all.

I am currently working on a quick knit for a friend.  I have no idea why I write the word quick when referring to my knitting.  There is no “quick” in my knitting vocabulary.  Oh, I’m sure someone else can knit quickly and whip up a hat or something (I’m thinking of Cookie here), but I’m not one of those.  So, my quick knit for a friend will probably go on for at least the rest of this week.

My soundtrack for mid-week?  How about some ELP and “Still You Turn Me On”

Have a good one!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to hyperbole, hyperbole, hyperbole, hyperbole

  1. heideho says:

    Thank you for reminding me to take joy in words today. I’ll try to use at least one of these while in a teacher/parent conference this morning regarding my youngest daughter. I miss knitting. Hugs to you m’dear!

  2. Emiko says:

    Great words and I love how you describe them as rubber balls bouncing inside the mouth 🙂

    I need to get some quick knits started too, for a swap I signed up for earlier this month. Hopefully I can get them done by the end of the month, as I am not a “quick” knitter by any means.

    Happy Wednesday! This will be my Friday for work (along w/ an extended 5 day “weekend”) as Bear’s mom’s in town for a week.

  3. Cookie says:

    I agree with you. People don’t seem to enjoy or play with words like they used to. Too busy texting, I guess. 😕

    Quick compared to those projects that feel like they might outlive you. Is that better? A hat vs your Purple Pi for example. Does that make better/more sense?

    xo

  4. sophanne says:

    yum yum yum. Ubiquitous. I love the same words as you.

    This week in class we’ve been playing with the word “porcupine.” It’s a funny not oft used word and when you’re in third grade or less it is inevitably pronounced “porkypine.”

  5. marianne says:

    Late again.. tardy you might say. I’m with you on the love and play of words and yes… hyperbole..bouncing around in your mouth like a rubber ball, it does indeed!
    I also like those words that feel like warm honey in your mouth.
    Quick. Like all things it’s relative. :^) xoxoxox

Leave a Reply

