Friday edition “Words and Pictures”

Yes, it is Friday once again. Beautiful wonderful Friday. Yet, when you look for a poem about the joys and beauty of Fridays, they are few and far between.  Can you imagine?   Me neither.  HAPPY FRIDAY, ANYWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have been thinking about Facebook.  I deactivated my account.  This is not about anything, but the use of time issue I have been having.  It is another reason to not turn the computer off.  I don’t need any more excuses for anything.   I have wasted a huge amount of time and have nothing to show for it.  It is a nice connection to people, but there are way too many other things going on there for me.  I suppose I should have said something on my “wall”, but I don’t comment often anyway and have not had anything to say yet, so I am going back to using my blog and talking and emailing those friends that I had on Facebook and have on the computer and in life.

So, I was driving to work thinking about myself.   I rock at self-analysis.  That, children, is sarcasm.   I love beautiful movies, but don’t enjoy movies much.  In other words, if a movie is visually stunning, I’m pulled in.  If a movie is filled with rich dialogue and a well-written plot, but visually dull, I’m gone.  Now, this is from the same person who loves words.  I’m perplexed.  How can I love words, but not enjoy hearing them spoken well and with great meaning?  Yet, I love looking at movies.  An example is “The Mask of  Zorro” with Anthony Hopkins, Antonio Banderas, and Catherine Zeta Jones.  The movie was dull and long, but visually quite lovely.  The cinematography was good from my point of view.  I am not an educated movie goer.  This is entirely subjective on my part.  Another movie I adore is “The Wizard of Oz”  because it is visually stunning (and, musically fabulous).  I can’t figure out why it bothers me that I don’t like movies with alot of dialogue,  but it does.  I think it’s because my entire family (sans Mum) love movies.   It’s just another something I wonder about.  Remember, I have a very very long drive to work every day.

So, I’m knitting on with “stuff” a very technical word for knitting I am unable to share with you.  I will be moving on to something showable shortly.  I need to do some knitting housecleaning to get there.  I do have a sock I am still working on.  It is my “go to” on-the-go project.

We are pretty firmly entrenched in fall here in Middle Earth.  The trees are dropping leaves like crazy and the birds are eating me out of house and home.  I don’t think I have any hummers left either.  I’ll miss the little guys.  Each morning I awaken and the house is cold and damp.  Very cold and damp.  Esau is consistently using her heat reflective mattress that matches her fur .  She still tries to sleep with Grover, but he’ll have none of it and I still spray her with water when she tries and she still runs out of the room yelling on the way.  No peace in my nights.  At least she can get warm because the house is not going to be as warm as it was last year and the years before.  Without Mom and her internal thermostat problems, the house is going to be kept cool.  Grover does better and I do, too.  Little Esau will have to snuggle the best she can.

So, I think I will leave you with the Beatles.  I know.  It’s a shock to the system, but you will adjust.   Here is the meaningful and spiritual “Yellow Submarine”

And, it’s visually stunning;-D

Have a terrific weekend!  See you on the flip side.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Friday edition “Words and Pictures”

  1. margene says:

    We keep our house pretty cool. The dogs love to go out and lay in the sun when they can and sometimes try to snuggle under the covers.
    I’m not much for movies, either. I do like a good story and dialog so you and I would never agree. However, I rarely go and rarely watch any movie at home.
    Now, Yellow Submarine is a movie they should bring back!!

  2. marianne says:

    I love you. I do.
    FB… I’ve been staying away, just tooooo much to do right now, and cannot spare the time so I hear you loud and clear.
    I would keep our house cooler but that other person who lives here… he’s all about climate control but I’m getting him ‘there’, slowly but surely. It’s why we have wool sweaters, and wool socks, right? I’m very happy to hear EM is making good use of her new bed :^)
    I just love a good movie, rarely go to the theatre to see them, would rather watch them at home so I’m usually behind the times. although… I will probably take Havala, Conor, and Gracie to see ‘Where the Wild Things Are’ because I love that book. “I’m going to eat you up!” that line cracks me up every time.
    Happy Freya’s Day! XOXOX and Happy Weekend!

    • knitwonpurltoo says:

      Hope the movie is as good as the book. I worry about that and compare wayyyyyyyyyy too much. Hope all is going well with the preparations. Nerve-wracking, eh? Love you, too!!!!!

  3. Emiko says:

    Happy Friday! I’m SO ready for this weekend!

    One visual movie I really enjoyed is “Ms. Potter” which is the story of Beatrix Potter. The landscape in the area she lived in was breathtaking. I have to be in a certain kind of mood to watch certain movies, but I’m a lot like you in that it has to have the visuals to draw me in most of the time.

    It’s starting to get cold here too. We keep our bedroom cold, so I wonder if Frank will be sleeping in the living room (the source of heat we leave on in the colder months) instead of sleeping w/ us? 🙂
    I’m still considering that reflective/insulating bed thingie for my kitty.

    Have a great weekend!

    • knitwonpurltoo says:

      Esau had to get pretty cold to want to sleep on the mattress. I tried putting it on my bed, but she prefers it on the sofa under a soft lap robe. Of course, she is only mildly spoiled. Like Frankie. I’m so glad to hear I’m not the only one. When Margene said we were opposites, I thought OMG, maybe I shouldn’t have shared that;-P Happy weekend, kiddo!

  4. Cookie says:

    I’m so glad EM is enjoying her kitty bed. She needs to get ready for the coming winter.

    For you, movies are more visual than audio. I can understand that. I think different people want different things from movies. I mean if I can knit through it with only the occasional glance at the screen, I’m happy. *L*

    Happy Friday!

  5. Sophanne says:

    You are drawn in by a visually pleasing movie but don’t like movies? Hello! Once you’re drawn in you can only knit garter stitch. Fortunately I’m more sound than sight- except for mr sophanne’s snoring – which he’s doing right now- I’d rather see than hear that!

  6. Peanut says:

    I think I have a movie for you to watch (the Fall) – also, p likes the house in the 75-79 range. In the winter, we will have to have many discussions about this. As I told you, and as you agreed, we do well in cooler houses. I’m not asking him to live in a 60 house, but I’m not spending that much to be that uncomfortable – especially if it’s not medically necessary! 😛

    I think that was a roundabout way of saying “you go girl” or something like that.

  7. Beth in StC says:

    I’ve successfully resisted the urge to join Facebook, mostly because I can’t keep up with Ravelry, Livejournal and my other blogs already. (Especially when I can’t hop online while waiting for a long report at work anymore, drat it.)

    We lost both elderly kitties/excuse for keeping the house warm last spring, so we’ll probably have the temp set at 63 or 64 during the day and around 60 during the night this winter. Our “of a certain age” kitty with thyroid problems is mostly Maine Coon, and he prefers it cool.

    I don’t watch many movies, but I do know I’m a very visually oriented learner. I can learn almost anything with good written instructions, but I’m fairly useless at following verbal directions. It seems most people assimilate information better if they get it in their preferred format. I’ve never applied that theory to movies; it might be an interesting experiment to find out this winter!

  8. Wendy says:

    Late to the party, as usual, but wanted to say that my husband and I have written a screenplay meant to be 1) visually breathtaking with huge Sergio Leone vistas of the West and 2) only 40% dialogue. We have as little talking as possible.

    Now, of course, you have to like horror and Westerns, so maybe not, but we have two elements you like anyway!

Leave a Reply

