A spider named Mike

I believe my feeling better is just in time. I spent a great deal of time alone last week. Of course, Grover and Esau Marie were with me, but they lack conversational skills. I realized this morning when I was working with “Mike” the spider that I needed to be with people.  Mike is my new pet.  He resides in my bathroom in the corner on the sink.  I have spent more time than sanity permits trying to train him to run away when I come in.  I don’t mind sharing space with him as long as I don’t see him.  Training is very slow.

IMG_0075He is rather large, isn’t he?  Maybe he’s more athletic than academic.  I do know that as long as I see him I will try to train him.  My brother is concerned that he might bite me, but I like spiders.  They eat the nasty annoying little bugs.  I have two spider bites on my shoulders from sleeping in the attic when I was a kid.  They still look kinda nasty.  The skin is  necrotic and all, but the dermatologist was unconcerned.  Oh, yeah.  I kinda lost my way there for a minute.  This is a continuing story so I will keep you posted (the training, not the skin thing).

Now, I promised knitting content and I’m going to deliver, but there’s a story that goes with this poor picture.  The picture itself is poorly balanced and the colors are all wrong, but the knitting itself,  well that is the story.  I found most of my Cosmo cardigan pieces.  I looked at the sleeve I was knitting and realized it was all wrong and ripped it.  I  put it back on the needles and started knitting at it again when I realized it wasn’t supposed to be a sleeve, but the left front.  Now, I can’t find the  the other sleeve so I’m just going to keep on knitting this extra sleeve like I had good sense.  I figure I’ll pick the two I like most and use them.  Then, rip the other one.  And, I wonder why it takes me so long to knit something.

IMG_0077Now, to wind you up for your week.  Here is David Bowie and “Rebel Rebel”  ………………”hot tramp, I love you so”  Have a great Monday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A spider named Mike

  1. margene says:

    A wolf spider lived for years with me in my fiber room. I haven’t seen him in awhile. He liked the upper corners of the room best. I don’t see the video, but I like the song! 😉

  2. Joy says:

    I was also going to suggest that Mike might be a wolf spider – at least s/he looks nothing like a brown recluse, thanks be! I’m surprised that EM leaves him alone – Amber would want to play with him 😉

    Getting back on track with “resting” projects can be quite a challenge!

  3. sophanne says:

    mmmm Rebel Rebel don’t know if you’re a boy or a girl. If your looking for something to do between ripping perfectly good knits you might try and find Rickie Lee Jones singing Rebel Rebel – delicious.

    Good luck with that spider training thing… : )

  4. marianne says:

    Your Mike, he/she’s a handsome arachnoid. As to the ‘training’, Mike is most likely laughing in your direction.
    and here I thought I was the only one with pet spiders ;^)
    There are only a couple types I won’t tolerate sharing my living space with, you know what they are.
    oh mercy, your ripping, so now besides the sleeve there’s the left front to knit, again.
    You’re so wonderful.
    Love the song, it seems to be missing :^)
    Happy Monday!

  5. Emiko says:

    yikes! although I’m sure Mike is doing his job eating the bugs that don’t need to be there, I get so skeezed when I see them that big. It’s that time of year they decide to visit us indoors too.

    We seem to be having an ant issue in the home and can’t quite figure out where they’re coming in from. We could sure use the assistance of some of Mike’s buddies, but as long as I don’t see them, I’m fine, but once I do, they have to be taken outside to find a new home (that’s Bear’s job, of course) 🙂

  6. crafterscupboard says:

    I’m extremely phobic when it comes to spiders, so there would be no training here. lol As long as you’ve checked it’s not the poisonous type, then let the training commence!

    Our knitting style is very similar, you know? lol Take care and glad you’re feeling better!

  7. Peanut says:

    Oh man. Oh man. Oh man.

    Cin, I think I take after you sometimes, but also, you may be even more neurotic than me. And that’s saying something. And are you trying to keep me out of your house? You realize I’m not going to visit until there is no spider in your bathroom. Unless you train him to leave whilst I am there.

  8. heideho says:

    Aaaa! Run away! I KNOW that spiders are good and all, but they terrify the immortal crap out of me with all of those legs flittering about.

    Crud and double crud. I hope that the ripped out front section posing as a sleeve learned its lesson and will identify itself in a timely fashion next time. Maybe I should mail some of my sweater parts to you and we can assemble a Frankensweater.

Leave a Reply

