A quiet weekend with knitting

I do not have much to show, but I do have something. Here it is.

IMG_0087Yes.  It is a February Lady Sweater.  I’m pretty certain, almost every single knitter in the known world has knit this.  I’m knitting it is Dyeabolical Yarns cotton slub…..colorway “Pinky”.   It is much more holey than most, but I like it.  It seems very lacey.  I thought it would be so pretty with my Tonks socks.

june282009 002What do you think?

I am and have been suffering from perfectionism or nothing.  I’m working on it.  I finally realized that I haven’t worked on anything because it (all of it) wasn’t quite perfect.  Who am I kidding?  I’m not perfect and my knits are not going to be perfect either.  Sloppy is not tolerated, but perfect is hard for me to attain, so I’m just gonna knit to my heart’s content and if it isn’t perfect I’ll deal with it or not sweat it.  Amazing it has taken me this long to figure this out.  So far, I’m loving my February Lady sweater.

Hope you all had a good weekend.  Friday was gray and yuck.  Saturday was gorgeous.  Sunday started out gorgeous and then got gray and yuck. It’s fall.  We are expecting more rain this week.  This has been the wettest October in St. Louis in history.  Yup.  History!  I’d be excited, but I a bit sick of the whole thing.  At least it isn’t snow, right?

I don’t know if I’ve used this before, but here are the Kinks again!  “So Tired”

Have a great one!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to A quiet weekend with knitting

  1. margene says:

    The song fits my mood today. You’re so right that if you get caught in the perfectionism trap you never progress. FBS is going to be beautiful in that color!

  2. Lisa says:

    i might be the other knitter on the planet who has not made a FLS.

  3. Joy says:

    It looks like the sweater and the socks will be great together! Umm … I’ve never knit a FLS 😉

    Monday’s starting out grey and yuck too, but have a great week in spite of it all!

  4. heide says:

    Love the Tonks socks and February sweater is lovely, lacy and pink to boot! This was one of the longest weeks ever and I welcome Monday for a change. We hope that Ashley can go back to school today. No news about Tasha still. Hugs to you.

  5. Emiko says:

    I haven’t knit the FLS yet, but it is in my queue. Love your Tonks socks too. I’m not a knitting perfectionist by any means, especially if I’m knitting for myself. If I find an error a few rows back and can get away w/ it, I just shrug it off and move on. It gives my knits character, if you will lol. Either that or I’m just lazy ;P

    Have a great start to the week. Here’s to I hope will be a tolerable monday at work 🙂

  6. Cookie says:

    I may be the only knitter who has not knit that pattern and will not be knitting it. :p

    Good lookin’ socks!

    xo

  7. Rachel says:

    I’m working on 3 for garter stitch and 5s for the lace for my FLS (that’s 5 & 7 for normal folk. :)) and bizarrely I am still getting the right gauge. I went way down in needle size figuring that garter stitch stretches over time.

    If you wash and dry the cotton slub inside out the whites cycle it will take care of a lot of that “sloppy” look. I’ve knit 2 sweaters from this yarn now and it does look a little sloppy before washing. Post-washing it just blooms and the fabric tightens up and it’s wonderful. It’s possible I might be biased, tho. 🙂 I normally just knit it about 7% longer and just a hair narrower give it a steam block when I’m done.

  8. marianne says:

    You can add me to that list of knitters having not knit the FLS.
    I think yours is going to be fabulous and yes, look mighty fine with those pretty socks.xox

  9. crafterscupboard says:

    LOL Looks like we should start a support group for “Knitters Who Have NOT Knit a Feb. Lady Sweater! lol But then, I could “captain” many of those “Who have not knit…” lists. lol. From your pictures, I think it will pair nicely with your Tonks socks…..also waiting to be knit by me….lmao.

    Think of you often and wish we were closer.

    A

Leave a Reply

