Oops. Random again.

It appears that my lack of focus has lost me my post, so here we go again. My lack of focus can be brought upon the broad shoulders of Mother Nature and her seriously pissy weather here in Middle Earth. I fear Mother Nature’s wrath. I do. But she has not tried me like this in a long time. We slog. We smell. Wet. Wet human. Wet dog. Wet Esau Marie from the wet dog.  Mildew smells and moldy smells.  It has rained and rained and rained.  And it continues to rain.  I think we are getting a day or two this week without rain.  Nobody, but nobody is talking about the end to this.  If you are in drought, come on by.  We have plenty to spare.  It hasn’t been raining hard enough this past week for the basement to actually leak.  No.  Now, it seeps.  The ground is so saturated that the water is seeping into my basement.  Meh.

Enough.

So.  Whaddya want to talk about?  I’m still working on my FLS.  She is in about the same place she was Monday, but just a few rows bigger.  I have been in such a foul mood (I just typed fowl and that made me smile.  There is hope) that I just knit a bit in the evening, go to bed and read.  Whoop.  But, until the weather breaks and gives us all some reason to smile again, I think that’s where I’m gonna be.  In bed.  Reading.  I know what EZ said, but sometimes knitting isn’t the answer.  I find when I feel this foul, the best thing is to avoid my knitting to avoid a huge disappointment.  I can screw up my knitting on a good day.  On bad days, it’s easier and faster and more damning.

Is anyone having a party or going to a party for Halloween this year?  I am making dinner for the homeless that evening.  I’m helping out a friend and dinner will be more fun than the breakfast I originally signed up for.  Honestly?  I’m looking forward to it.  I bought little black and orange gift bags and will put candy in them and decorate them with stickers and serve them as dessert.  Dinner will be a salad (lettuce in a bag) and home made lasagna.  It’s the least I can do and it is less expensive than buying it.  I also happen to believe it tastes much much better.  So that’s my plan.  What’s yours?

And, to leave you with something less pissy than my mood, here’s Poco and “Keep on Tryin'”.  The video sucks, but I do so love the music.

Have a great Hump Day!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oops. Random again.

  1. margene says:

    I met all the Poco guys when they played SLC in 1969. Awesome duds, awesome music. It’s ok to get pissy when the weather is tedious, odious and boring. In bed with a book isn’t a bad place to be. You’ll do penance when you serve your food and what a lovely offering it is. It is enough. May the rain stop soon.

  2. sophanne says:

    I’m in a bovine mood myself- slow- sluggish and can’t keep track of where I’ve been or where I’m going. The shadow of the pending holiday season and it’s effects on an elementary music teacher are wheedling their way into my psyche.

    There’s a halloween pet parade at the fairgrounds on Saturday afternoon. I think that’s as festive as I’ll get- Liza is opposed to any sort of costumage or any dog that isn’t her so I may have to go alone.

  3. heideho says:

    I’m glad that October is almost over. It’s been dismal and dreary everywhere and most people need some levity or cheer right about now. Your Halloween dinner is both amazing and inspiring. Will you dress up to serve it? Will Grover go too? We’re going to do the traditional Trick-or-Treating and passing out of candy.

  4. Emiko says:

    I’ll be carving my pumpkin on Friday night and passing out candy on Halloween. You can say I’m in a foul (or fowl?, lol) mood myself, so probably won’t be dressing up at work. Work’s kinda sucked all life out of me. A co-worker said work right now = The Dementors and she wouldn’t be more right hahaha!

    Hope the rain lets off a little so that it lifts your spirit a little. Believe you me, I know what it’s like when it’s raining raining raining 🙂

  5. Cookie says:

    I hope the rain stops soon. Y’all need a break.

    I am planning on going back to bed and staying there until, at the least, early next week. feh

    xo

  6. Joy says:

    I certainly agree on the rain – it’s already the wettest October on record, so it can quit any time!!! Are we getting mossy on our north sides yet – hang in there, November’s supposed to be better 😉

  7. marianne says:

    I love those Poco dudes too, and their music ;^) and just look at Margene, meeting them back in the day :^)
    Yep. Rain here today, toad strangler rain midday.
    I hear you on just going to bed and reading, one of my all time favourite things to do. Piss away, but hey… as long as it’s raining? No Yardwork. right? right.
    No plans, and good for you!
    XOXOX

Leave a Reply

