Did anyone see a weekend go by?

I seem to have misplaced mine. I have three days each weekend and I still kinda lost one (or two). If you see it, would you please send it home? I miss it.
Dinner for the homeless, not the homeless dinner per Becky(she’s such a smartass;-P), went very well.  I do it because it brings me out of my basic comfort zone.  I am basically shy.  I have to force myself to be friendly when I am thrown in new situations.  It’s hard, but I work at it all the time.  Friends and family would be stunned to hear this.  I give the appearance of being quite sure of myself, but it’s all baloney.  I’m a big fake.  So, to get me out of my own little world, I volunteer and interact with other human beings who have lost their homes.  The single women break my heart because I can see myself in that situation.  They are ashamed and I can understand that, but work so hard to make them understand that I don’t believe it’s because they are bad or stupid.  We are not in control of every aspect of our being.  So, they finished my 13×9 pan of lasagna and proclaimed it good (bless their hearts) and took the little gift bags of Halloween candy to enjoy during the coming week.  I left feeling like I had spent a wonderful evening with some lovely people.  It is not always pleasant.  Sometimes the anger is very strong and we (the hosts) are the closest thing so we get the brunt of that anger.   I’ve been there for that and it’s very hard to deal with, so Saturday was great.

I have been knitting on my February Lady Sweater.  She is pink and growing.  No picture today because she looks about the same only a little bigger.  I will share when she grows a tad more.

IMG_0011This dianthus is still blooming on my deck.  We have not yet had a killing frost.  Rain?  Yup.  Cool?  Yup.  Frost?  Yup.  Freeze?  Nope.  Still waiting.  It could happen any time now.

Grover and I had a misunderstanding.  The language barrier is hard to overcome.  He got into a barking binge on Sunday afternoon.  He was outside and barked continually.  He’s normally the strong silent type, but he would not shut up.  I told him to come inside and he continued to bark.  I finally shushed him and told him to lie down.  He did, but he wouldn’t take his eyes off me.  I do not speak dog.  I understand a basic conversational wag, but barking I don’t understand.  It could be his accent is from a different part of the country.  I don’t know.  I do know that I finally had to comfort him and snuggle with him and sing (I’m pretty sure that was what did it) for him to calm down and relax.  We’re ok now, but sheesh.  It’s so frustrating.

Now.  It’s Monday.  So, you all need a song to sing in your heads all day long.  Well, I have the perfect song for you.  “The Seeker” from The Who.

Have a good one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Did anyone see a weekend go by?

  1. sophanne says:

    Conversational Wag! Accent from a different part of the coutnry! Only you could make me laugh on a Monday morning as I begin to prepare for the winter program!

    This morning LJ came back to bed after Mr. Sophanne left and instead of her usual cuddle to me place, she went under his covers. When I got up her little head was sticking out where his feet go. When I said good morning, she stretched and pulled the covers over her head.

    I can’t speak dog either but I’m getting pretty good at sign language.

  2. Annie says:

    Maybe he was trying to tell you something. Was Timmy stuck in a well? A stray cat or squirrel or something like that bugging him? Ghosts?

  3. Joy says:

    Pretty dianthus! I like the idea of a leftover ghost 😉 Toby’s been much barkier than he used to be throughout all the construction confusion.

  4. heideho says:

    Grover was trying to explain the meaning of life and give you the winning lottery numbers! Glad you had a rewarding outing on Halloween. Hope your week is glorious!

  5. marianne says:

    Oh… that first paragraph… Sista!
    Grover… was he carrying on a conversation with a squirrel? or? who knows? Sounds like he thought it pretty important though.
    That little dianthus sure is pretty :^) xox

  6. Emiko says:

    I’m a rather shy person myself and have the same struggles. I’m such a homebody, but have to force myself to get out the door and interact with people other than work, but once I’m out the door, I’m fine. But getting to that door? That’s the struggle for me.

    You’re a sweet, lovely and caring person to do what you did on Halloween. And you are not a fake! 🙂

    I love that you sing to Grover 🙂 Not sure if I’d have the same effect singing to Frank when he’s being vocal – only because I know he’s telling me to feed him, hahaha

    Here’s to a speedy workweek – I don’t know where my weekend went either!

  7. margene says:

    I’ll bet he saw something he wanted you to see, like a squirrel or a snake.
    Giving a bit of yourself to others is such a lovely thing to do.

Leave a Reply

