I had a long talk with myself

and I do believe we’re getting along much better today than yesterday.  Monday night I came home all hot and bothered about the condition of my home.  I am not a super-tidy human being.  I do not like filth.  I love clutter.  I don’t need alot of clutter, but some clutter is very comforting to me.  Books and knitting and spinning stuff are my clutter of choice.  But, when my Mom’s health was failing, I chose her over a clean house, and, I would do it again in a heartbeat.  But, the house looks messy and I have been  getting mad at myself for not diving in.  So, Monday night I came home and looked around and thought, “Damn”.  Then, I had a long talk with me and I  realized I was stressing and I didn’t need to be stressing.  A little bit at a time and the house will get done.  I think it’s all part of my grieving process, but it got all muddled together.

So, the knitting thing?  Still working on FLS.  I am over half way on the yoke.  I forget that when you increase the stitches, it takes longer to knit a row.  Simple logic, but a much simpler brain.  I still love it.  It’s just slow going right now.  When it has a pattern or some sort of shape that looks right (like a sweater), I will take a picture for you.  And, it is very very pink.  I am finding that I love color in my knitting.  I have noticed the more I knit, the more color I crave.  I wonder if it is part of the growth of a knitter?  Maybe, it’s jut that my love of color is finally coming out.  I love color.  Adore it!  I have a lithograph by Marcia Bank that I simply fell in love with and had to have at an auction.  Here it is.

IMG_0106Not a good photo, but you get the general idea, don’t you?

Well, it’s time for me to toddle along to work and stuff.  I am going to leave you with something mellow.   Here are the melodious wanderings of The Who and “Baba O’Riley”.  Enjoy

Have a great one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I had a long talk with myself

  1. margene says:

    Pick one area at a time and concentrate on it….a closet, a corner, a desk. Then revel in your accomplishment and give yourself a pat on the back. Little by little our houses will be better organized through the winter. Dancing to Baba would make time go more quickly. 😉

  2. marianne says:

    What Margene said :^)
    and yes, it is part of the grieving process so take it a bit at a time, you’ll know when you’ll want to do more, or less, and it will get done. oh, and that ‘clutter’ you’re referring to? not clutter, those are the tools of our lives. but I hear you on that ‘extra’ stuff, no fretting, ok? love the litho and yes, picnic packed with colour :^) xox

  3. heideho says:

    Hugs to you dear one. Don’t worry about the “clutter”. If needs be then pick one area/room. remove all “clutter” from that one spot and go there to relax, but don’t overwhelm yourself by thinking you need to do everything all at once.

  4. heideho says:

    Or at all for that matter.

  5. Emiko says:

    I love clutter too, so you’re not alone 🙂 But life’s too short to worry about clutter – we’ll get to it when we get to it!

    I can see why you fell in love w/ the lithograph – lots of colors! Since I learned to knit, I find myself choosing colors I never would have in the past – I find it a little odd 🙂

    Happy Wednesday!

  6. Joy says:

    From a postcard I found in a college bookstore many years ago: “Neat people never make the exciting kinds of discoveries I do!” 😉

  7. Cookie says:

    I agree with our Margene. One drawer at at time, sweetie. And remember that it took time to gather all those goodies. Sorting through them should take time, too.

    (I’m cleaning out my mother’s closets. It’s been interesting and I am so thankful that she realizes how little of that stuff she needs.)

    I think we all reach a point where we want more color in our lives.

    xo

Leave a Reply

