Knitting Epiphany

I had an epiphany this weekend(yes, another one).  I have only completed one and 3/4 sock and a scarf in the past 6 months. Pathetic. I knew I had focus issues, but really had no idea the extent of my problems.  With that realization came the acceptance that maybe I’m a bit off and should just mosey back into knitting.  Work a little every day and get back at it.  I wouldn’t even mess, but I miss it.  I miss the challenge and the joy of it.  The textures, colors and varieties.  I just plain miss it.

My weekend, including Thanksgiving, went just fine.  I sure hope you had a good Thanksgiving and weekend.  I did get my birdseed and the birds are quite grateful.  We are now in the stages of cooling down (finally!!).  By mid-week it will be in the 20’s at night and 40’s during the day.  That is about average for here this time of year.  But, we’ll be in December by then.  And, exactly how did that happen???

I don’t recall a couple of weeks in November.  Do you think we might get do-overs?   Ask for a Mulligan???

My soundtrack for today is something seasonal.  It’s Angela Lansbury as Mame with “Haul out the Holly.”  Enjoy.

Have a good one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Knitting Epiphany

  1. margene says:

    The afterward of any life changing event is out of focus. It takes time, sometimes a year or more, for the colors to come back and the edges appear again. You’ll find your way back to knitting and find it’s comfort when the time is right. You’re a epiphanies are good and will help you along the road.

  2. Rachel says:

    I’m torn on your soundtrack of the day. On the one hand, I do love me some Angela Lansbury. On the other hand, the Rosalind Russel version of Auntie Mame was so much better. I won’t even bother with adding “in my humble opinion” because I feel just that strongly about it. 😛 Have a good Monday!

  3. joyknits says:

    One of the great things about knitting is that it’s there waiting when you’re ready – hang in there! Glad you had a good weekend! I need to get another sack of bird seed too – thanks for the reminder 😉

  4. marianne says:

    You may have only those to show for FO BUT need I remind you, you HAD been knitting, and on something very special. Find your daily bit of time and relax and enjoy.
    That Angela, great legs! XOXOX

  5. Emiko says:

    well you know I’m kind of in the same boat as you are as far as knitting has been this year. However, I did manage to finish the FO I’ve been slugging along on since Sept/Oct (I think?) and CO for some baby socks that are overdue for an expectant mom in my knitting group.

    I feel I’m getting somewhere, so that’s good 🙂 And, I’m feeling my knitting mojo coming back bit by bit – that’s a good sign, but hang in there! As someone else mentioned, our knitting will be waiting for us when we’re ready to pick it back up (and mine was there for me too) 🙂

    Have a great Monday!

  6. heideho says:

    Every year time becomes more and more scarce. I wish we could get together, drink a hot buttered rum, talk and if the mood stuck, knit.

Leave a Reply

