At least I have clean clothes!!!

The best laid plans of mice and men……. I had big plans for the weekend and I did accomplish some stuff. Just not all that I thought I would.  One thing I did accomplish was the laundry.  Hence, the title.  Now, the hat is in a short time out.  I have been knitting this hat by the Magic Loop method and as I was pulling the cable through I managed to pull it completely out.  It seems my nerves have been bad, because my stitches are so tight I couldn’t get them pulled up and back on the needle.  So, time out.  Not for the hat, but for me. It really was turning out quite nicely, too.

A group of friends (and, I) went caroling on Saturday morning for elderly shut-ins from our church.  It was so amazingly gratifying, and fun!!!  I haven’t been caroling for many years and last year the group came to our house and sang for Mom.  I cannot tell you how much that meant to her, and me.  Saturday was bittersweet because we sang for one of my Mom’s dear friends.  A wonderful lady I have known almost all my life.  I feel so grateful to be blessed by so many wonderful friends and experiences.  I’m coming unglued because of the time thing (and, this is new how?????) at Christmas.  The rest of it has been frosting on the cake.  There have been a few crappy bits here and there, but I cannot hang onto the bad.  It just eats you up.  Nobody needs that.  Anyway, I was getting ready to go caroling and couldn’t find any clean clothes.  How humiliating.  I ended up wearing an old green sweatshirt (I do believe this is the ugliest sweatshirt in existence), jeans (those were fine), and a pair of purple handknit socks.  I could almost hear my Mom say to me as I left the house, “Dear, don’t you have anything nicer than that?”  I had to giggle.  And, yes, she did say that to me from time to time.  Poor dear.  She was a girly girl and I was and am a tomboy.  Thank goodness her granddaughters were girly girls.  Mom was perpetually trying to help me with some sort of style, but  I couldn’t be bothered.

Since I’m short on knitting content, I’m gonna get you going on your day.  Anybody remember the Beau Brummels?  I loved them, too.  Here’s “Laugh Laugh”

Have a great one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to At least I have clean clothes!!!

  1. margene says:

    Beau Brummels? I still love Beau Brummels. The “first” of any yearly event is hard and there is no reason not to embrace the grief and acknowledge your loss. It does get better. You’ll find your own traditions that will soften the blow, but it takes time. Big Hugs to you!!

  2. marianne says:

    Firstly… ditto on what Margene wrote.
    Secondly… I do believe your mum and my mum would’ve had a good time commiserating about their daughters’ ‘style’. Only, she just thought she was going to get a girly girl granddaughter, Havala walks proudly in my footsteps with the style thing :^D
    The thing is… the folks you all caroled the other night… all they saw? Beautiful loving faces, and hearing beautiful voices, and no doubt loving every minute.
    It should go without saying here, your attire sounded Just Fine!
    Puffickly haYooge hugs. xox

  3. Emiko says:

    The caroling sounded like a blast! I haven’t gone since high school, lol. I’m a sweatshirt & jeans kinda gal myself and get that comment from mom still to this day (and it’s me who thinks she’s always overdressed, hehe).

    Sorry to hear about the cable issue on the hat. Take a little break and I hope you can finish it up to show it off here 🙂

    Have a great start to this week!

  4. Cookie says:

    I hope you and the hat can work things out

    xo

  5. Rachel says:

    It isn’t you. It’s the nature of the beast. Grab some smaller size needles and thread them through your live stitches and then transfer them back to your full size needle.

    I echo everything Margene said, except for the part about Beau Brummels. *hughug*

  6. heideho says:

    Bad hat! How dare it act out on you when you’re trying to give it life. I detest unruly knits. I’m sure you looked just wonderful when you went caroling. What a generous and heartfelt gift to those who heard you! My mom used to nag me about putting on a little lipstick, etc. Finally she gave me up for a lost cause. My eldest daughter is making up for my lack of cosmetics, but my middle daughter would rather be covered in mud. This drives her older sister bonkers and about once a month she convinces Autumn to play make-up artist. Those who take primping and grooming to lofty standards are always trying to lift up us salt of the earth types. I too am ignorant of the Beau Brummels, but I’m digging those skinny pants and haircuts. Cheers my dear!

  7. Joy says:

    Your outfit sounds fine to me – I’ve got a very faded blue sweatshirt with paint on one sleeve that could probably give yours a run for its money 😉 Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

