It’s the last FRIDAY before the big gift giving…..Friday

FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!IT IS FRIDAY TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!HAHAHAHAHAHA, IT’S FRIDAY TODAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Today is the final Friday before Christmas.  I would be panicky, but that was yesterday when I was seriously over-caffeinated.  I talked too much all day and kept on going into the evening.  It would have been kinder for somebody to just shoot me and put me out of their misery.  I promise starting today that I will try really really hard to caffeinate much less.  At least, after the holiday.  I so know myself and I will will caffeinate to within an inch of my life just to keep going.  Uberstrickenfrau (I miss her) had a banner on her blog that said “Drink coffee and you’ll be able to do stupid things even faster”.  That might not be absolutely correct, but I do know the sentiment is dead on.  And, it is so right.

I do this not because of the gifty buying or knitting.  It’s the baking that sends me into a dither.  I bake a Lemon Bread(more like a cake) that is absolutely wonderful.  I love it and I shouldn’t eat it (I do.  I can’t help it, it’s that good).  Anyway, it take about an 1.5 to 2 hours to make and bake two loaves and I decide early on to bake at least 8 or 10 loaves and after a marathon baking session, I decide maybe 6 will do.  I want to bake the 8 to 10 loaves this year.  There were so many kind people when Mom died that I want to share this with.  I would mail the breads, but I am afraid they would be just a billionish tiny crumbs when they arrived whereever, including down the street from me.  They’re fragile, too.

Today is hair cut and color day.  I wouldn’t do the color, but I need it……..bad!  If my hair would just go ahead and turn white or gray or whatever, I wouldn’t bother, but it’s at that bleh stage.  I think it will be very pretty once it gets around to finally turning.  I take after my Dad hair-wise.  My brother (who is quite a bit older than I am….about 23 months) is just starting to gray.  Who says God has no sense of humor?  So, I’ll be stuck at the salon for a couple of hours when I could be baking.  Maybe, I’ll just drink coffee and talk too much.  Whaddya think?

Our weather is becoming decidedly more wintery.  It is winter after all and I can’t argue too much.  I just hope we are spared icey conditions this year.  I have zero tolerance for ice.  I’m sure that’ll make a huge difference in the weather.  Just knowing I don’t approve.  It’s supposed to start raining this afternoon and then turn to snow.  Perfect baking conditions, don’t you think????

So, on that note, I need to get moving with the pup and the Queen.  They are in dire (and, constant) need of food and treats and snuggles.  Plus, the pup needs his morning constitutional.  Have a wonderful weekend.  Here’s my soundtrack for the day….The Sir Douglas Quintet and “She’s About a Mover”.  Somebody please explain these weird sets, please!

Have a great weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to It’s the last FRIDAY before the big gift giving…..Friday

  1. margene says:

    More Stevie! He’s still quite the musician.
    Lemon cake…I’d eat the crumbs if I could. I miss a good lemon cake. The hours of maintenance it took to streak or dye my hair was more time than I wanted to spend in the chair. Add a pedicure, manicure and eyelash dyeing and it was all too much, something like 8 or 10 hours! I gave up all the maintenance and do nothing. I’m happy and it doesn’t matter much to me what anyone else wants.

  2. marianne says:

    Mmmm. Lemon bread/cake, lemon anything and everything, mmmmm. I’ve a hankering for some pumpkin bread so will be baking that but ooooh, lemony goodies, yum!
    Hah… premature white/gray runs in the family, mum’s side, my brother’s is and has been white for ages.. son Aardron started graying while still in highschool, I call him Silverback. Fortunately we were also blessed with (take your pick) Scot and/or Cherokee genes from dad’s side, which makes for ‘sturdy’ hair, thick and sturdy. Aardron won’t be a baldheaded man (barring medical reasons). Sadly I didn’t get the premature white/gray gene, and although I don’t colour my hair I do wish it’d just hurry and go all white/gray. now.
    huh… mom and I used to dye each other’s lashes back in the day (she being a trained/licensed cosmetologist and taught me so she could get hers dyed).
    Have fun at your appointment and hey, talk away!
    Happy Weekend and Baking to You! XOX

  3. Emiko says:

    Your lemon bread sounds so yummy! Last night I made an eggnog spice bundt cake to take over to my parents today. I have the day off from work today, and hope to finish off some shopping.

    I so need a cut and color bad. My sis has a salon, but she’s too freakin busy to sneak me in. She says she’ll do it on her days off, but I’d hate to have to have her do her job on a day off, so I sit here w/ untrimmed long hair and lots and lots and lots of grey hair lol.

    And as far as caffeination (is that a word? probably not) goes, you know I’m gonna recommend full throttle! 🙂 Let’s live it large, baby! heehee

    Have a wonderful, wonderful weekend!

  4. sophanne says:

    Uberstrickenfrau!!!!!! Oh How I Miss Her TOOOOO!!!

  5. heideho says:

    Mmmm, lemon bread! What color are you going to have your hair done? I change mine every couple of months just to liven things up, but I just grab whatever is cheapest at the grocery store instead of having a professional do it right… it shows. Hope you enjoy this last week before Christmas ’09 hits. Cheers!

  6. Joy says:

    Lemon bread sounds *wonderful* – I love practically anything lemon :oP My default holiday “quick bread” is dried cranberry nut from my old faithful modified Betty Crocker recipe. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

