Winter Solstice

Well, it’s here. The shortest day of the year. Yay! Now, the days will start getting longer.

My weekend was a whirlwind.  That’s fine, but I keep waking up at 4:00 or 5:00 a.m. and laying there.  My mother passed the “worry when there isn’t a darned thing you can do about it” gene.  I lay in bed and discuss this with myself, but myself just tells me that I need to pick up the pace.  I have told myself “Self.  There are no stores open at this ungodly hour and you do not want to bake this early either.  Lighten up!”  But, Self refuses to listen.  It gets more complicated because if I move too much Grover decides that this is a perfect time to go for a walk.  Then, Esau Marie comes in yelling at us both because we aren’t moving fast enough. To avoid this, I lay in bed and PRETEND I’m asleep.  I haven’t done that since I was a little kid on Christmas Eve.  And, to prove how lame I am.  Sometimes it doesn’t even work!!!!

So, I’m running on a major sleep deficit which makes focus the biggest joke.  I’m pretty unfocused most of the time, but right now.  fugedaboudit.   I really do not have much left to do, but the sleep thing is still occurring.  Just a few more days and maybe I can get a good night’s sleep.

Oh, and do you like my curls?  They are not very clear because I’m not a good photographer, but I’ll try again.  I took it last night.  I should probably try again when the sun is shining.  Or, rather, if the sun ever shines again.  It would be nice to get a little Vitamin D naturally again.  It has been so dreary around here.

Since this is the week of Christmas, I will leave you with my soundtrack for the day.  “The Carol of the Bells” by the Swedish Chef, Beaker and Animal.

Have a great Monday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter Solstice

  1. Joy says:

    I’ve got the wake up early and run mental lists problem too – ugh!

    I was trying to figure out what curls you were talking about (the header doesn’t show up in the reader) until I clicked through – looks really curly and bright 😉

    Merry Christmas!

  2. marianne says:

    hee, I was wondering the same.. where are the curls? duh. Thank you, Joy. :^)
    Pretty, auburn/russet colour? I’m lovin’ the little flames ;^)
    I do that too before ‘events’.. as in not sleep, worry and fret and I know it’s just not necessary. Do you think it’s just another symptom of ADD? I just have Christmas Eve now and that’s with my family and as we’re all laid back… I’ve been sleeping like a very contented baby (because we all know there’s lots of babies who don’t sleep worth crap,eh?)
    You’ll get there and sleep that sleep.
    XOX

  3. margene says:

    Neither of us like anyone telling us what to do, but a doctor would tell you to make sure and take 2,000 iu a day. My D was very, very low and the lack can cause so, so many problems. The doc also might be able to help you with the lack of sleep, even if it’s for a short time.
    Happy Solstice!!!

  4. Emiko says:

    Love the curls! It was the first thing I saw stopping here to get my Monday dosage of you to start my week, hehehe

    I so know what you mean about the lack of sleep thing. My mind is on constant overdrive, thinking thinking thinking. This past weekend “sleeping in” was about 7am. Frank rubbin up on my face and gently nibbling on my cheek at 5am doesn’t help the situation, but when he’s hungry, he’s hungry 🙂

    Have a great monday – a short workweek for me but a little bittersweet. Our fam will be postponing our holiday until next week as my sister’s husband’s grandma just passed away, so they’re off to Michigan.

Leave a Reply

