Handmade Christmas

I didn’t have an entirely handmade Christmas. But, I did receive some amazing and touching gifts. I will share the handmade ones with you this week. First of all, I received, on a raining Christmas eve, a package sitting on my mailbox from my Heide.  it contained a tug rope for Grover.  Poor dear, he’s completely clueless.  It doesn’t squeak and he just stands and looks at it.  I’m hoping we’ll get it figured out pretty soon.  I think he would enjoy the heck out of it.  We will work on it;-P  Next, was a can of Friskies kitty food for the Queen, Stinky McFartbutt.  She doesn’t get treats like that very often and I have been doling it out to her in small amounts.  She doesn’t need to be spoiled any more than she already is.  There also was this sweet pin with the three wise kitties.  It is currently on my winter coat.  It started out on the raincoat, but our temps have dropped dramatically and we are quite chilly (27F) right now.  I tried to get a picture of the pin, but it keeps washing out or blurring.  Lastly, I found this gorgeous cowl/whimple in the bottom of the box.

It’s sorta blurry, but again, the photographer sucks.  Isn’t that beautiful?  This was my first gift for Christmas this year.  What a wonderful box of gifts.  Thank you so much, Heide!!!!!!!!!!!

I will not complain about our weather.  We have had a cakewalk compared to other parts of the country.  My only problem this year is that the cold is really really cold for me.  I realized yesterday that my new winter snow boots were going to come in very handy.  We have had a huge snowfall of less than 2″, but I went out yesterday and walked around and did a couple of chores and my feet were warm and dry.  Here’s to winter boots.   I love them.  I am also wearing more clothes in the house.  I will adjust in any way I need to, but more clothes has helped alot.  Some being of the wool persuasion.

To send you into your new week here is my soundtrack of the day.  The Dave Clark Five on Shindig singing “Can’t You See That She’s Mine”.  There are some serious issues with the lip-syncing on this video.

Have a great Monday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Handmade Christmas

  1. margene says:

    A very Merry Christmas! Heidi was good to you and you deserve it. Staying warm is key to the happiness of winter. If your feet are warm it’s easier to warm up every other part. Can you believe we’re looking at the last week of 2009!?

  2. Joy says:

    Cool! Staying warm is a top priority. I could bring you some snow from KC, but hopefully it would only melt on the way across ;o)

  3. marianne says:

    ooooh, that cowl/neck warmer is Beautiful! Way to go, Heidi!
    Do we know what the pattern is? (yes, I realize Heidi knows)
    I’m lovin’ those boots, and glad they’re keeping your feet warm and DRY. Yes, I actually enjoy keeping the home cool and wearing sweaters! We’re still covered with the white stuff, and ice.
    Happy Monday! xox

  4. Emiko says:

    Such a purdy cowl! I’ve been wanting to make one for myself for some time and hope to get more accomplished in knitting next year, because this year sucked 🙂

    Glad the boots came in handy w/ the colder temps. I’ve been eyeing a pair of slip ons that have that shearling/fleece looking stuff that looks so cozy warm, but not sure if my feet would be too warm in it here lol

    Have a happy monday!

  5. heide says:

    That is my modified version of Stephanie Pearl-McPhee’s Pretty Thing. I added an extra pattern repeat for width and then knitted twice as many rounds so that it could be used as a hood as well as a neck warmer.
    Cindy is wonderful and I love her to pieces. The thought of her freezing while out walking the pooch is not acceptable. The real question is, what do her new boots look like.

  6. Annie says:

    I’m late to the party with this comment, but here goes anyway. Your comment about wearing more clothes made me giggle a little. Because then I thought that you used to walk around in just your skivvies or something. Hahaha!

    Happy New Year! Have you used up you quota of !!!!!! ??

Leave a Reply

