The very last Wednesday of 2009. Momentous?

I don’t know. It doesn’t really feel that way to me.  It has been a tough year for me in many ways, but I am so blessed that I can’t really complain.  Here endeth my in depth analysis of 2009!!!   It appears that this year will be leaving us in a deep freeze.   Maybe it’ll kill the mold we have accumulated from the torrential rains.  One can only hope.

And, this will be my last post of 2009.  How exciting.  Um, yeah.  To move right along, here is the second gift of my handmade gifts this year.

It is a scarf.  Knit especially for me by my beloved sissy-in-law.  She used Handmaiden Sea Silk.  It is amazing.  I need to wear it somewhere, but I’m afraid something will happen to it.  I did wear it most of Christmas Day.  It is too beautiful for words.  I will need to check sometime to see if it is warm.  Honestly?   I don’t care.  It’s so pretty, it doesn’t matter.

One more for today, because I have four handmade gifts this Christmas.   This is a skein.  Yes, a skein of Suri Alpaca spun by my very own Peanut on her spindle.  Just for moi!   It’s 390 yards of fingeringish weight.  I just stroke it when I walk past.   I haven’t decided yet what it wants to be when it knits up.

It’s really darker than that, but this picture shows how lovely it is.

Since it is Wednesday and hump day and the last Wednesday of 2009, here’s my soundtrack for the end of this year……”Auld Lang Syne” by Gordon in Australia and playing on Fraser Isle.  Do NOT turn this up loud.

Have a great Wednesday and a safe and wonderful New Year’s Eve.  See you next year (yuck,yuck,yuck).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The very last Wednesday of 2009. Momentous?

  1. margene says:

    Kid Silk is not only beautiful it is warm and soft. My KSH shawl is a favorite to wear. The day before the end of the year is always momentous. It may not feel that way, but it is. May you have a very, very good 2010 and may it be full of love, life and knitting. My new motto will be “Laugh more, live more, love more”. xoxo

  2. heideho says:

    OMG! What pattern is the seasilk shawl? That is gorgeous. Peanut is an amazing spinner. I can’t imagine being able to spin or ply that evenly on a wheel, let alone with a spindle. You have a wonderful family. It seems like the year just started… heck, it seems like the new century just started.

  3. marianne says:

    Mmmm, the blue scarf is Stunning! and the handspun suri alpaca is Beautiful! You really did pull in a fabulous load of handmades!!
    You’re such a card. see you next year, har har. :^D
    Wishing you loads and loads of The Very Best for this coming new year. XOXOXOX!!!!!

  4. Emiko says:

    Wow – beautiful scarf! I want to know the pattern too 🙂
    and your Peanut did a great job with the suri alpaca (love that stuff). Beautiful gifts ya got there!

    Here’s to the rest of 2009 and ringing in 2010 – may it be a great year for all of us!

  5. sophanne says:

    that scarf is beautiful-

  6. Cookie says:

    What a lovely scarf and wonderful handspun!

    Happy New Year, Cindy!

    xo

  7. Joy says:

    Scarf and handspun both look wonderful! I’m sure Suri alpaca is tremenjously pettable. Very best wishes for the new year (((((Cindy)))))

Leave a Reply

