The ugliest gloves in the world

They were quite nice about 20 years ago.  They are a sort of suede like material with a sort of fleece like lining.  Sort of.   They are worn and ugly as sin.  I haven’t had a brown coat since I had my camel hair coat in the late 70’s.  Does that give you an idea?    I was going to discuss my knitting on my mittens when I realized that it really doesn’t matter what I knit.  I will go back to these butt-ugly gloves.  They are warm.  They are totally utilitarian.  I can walk the dog.  I can take out the trash.  I can shovel snow and toss out melting chemicals (paw-safe, of course!).  I can do anything besides look nice.  I still have a nice pair of Isotoner gloves in black.  I love those, too.  Is there knitwear here?  No.  I may need to figure out why.  I know I can’t find one pair of mittens, but otherwise, I can’t think of a good excuse for not having knitwear for my hands (besides numerous pair of fingerless mitts).  It’s just a tad late for this winter, but I will need to make a plan for next winter.  Gloves and mittens are pretty much like socks in the middle of July, so I can work on them then.  Right?

Also, randomly, Grover has been having problems getting along with his classmates.   Monday, when he was at the cageless kennel for the day (HIS playday), he went after a standard poodle who was just laying on the ground.  They put Grover in “puppy time out”.  Other than having a terrible time keeping a straight face at the idea of a “puppy time out”,  I was quite unhappy that the big old dope was mean.  I won’t have a bully.  It is unacceptable.  So, he doesn’t get to go for a while.   He has to earn his next playday.   He has also been relegated to “dog” in the pecking order here.   That means I’m the A-Alpha, Esau Marie is Alpha-kinda and Grover is the Beta.  He is already behaving a bit better.  I’m not mad at him.  I am furious with myself.   I was sick last week, so I just stopped being dominant.  That is unfair to him.   You can’t just go back and forth.  You have to be consistent.   So, other than being grateful that he didn’t  hurt somebody, things are going along much more smoothly.

And, now, since it is so cold here and we are expecting snow this evening, here’s my soundtrack for the day Ms. Diana Krall and “Let it Snow”

Have a wonderful day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The ugliest gloves in the world

  1. sophanne says:

    I think sometimes I’m so grateful for LJ that I forget to be Alpha. Lately she’s been a little more demanding for pieces of my dinner. Sneaking up to the edge of the plate and all. I hear you on firming up.

    Here’s what I know about protective handwear. If it keeps you warm it stays.

    Last week I put on my fingerless mitts and a pair of oversized knitted mitts. While the outer ones were made of malabrigo, I decided that mitts were made to be useful (I’m the Alpha of my mitts) I had no fingers to thaw when I was done in spite of the zero degree wind chills. If buttugly keeps you warm then rock on buttugly!

  2. margene says:

    Our little ones (or big in your case) regress so easily. Damn dogs. Sturdy, warm gloves are a must and knit gloves or mittens rarely hold up as well or are as warm. When it’s very cold stick with what works. Dianna Krall is one of my favorites…love her voice and style.

  3. Joy says:

    As far as gloves (and other warmies) are concerned, WARM trump pretty every time, though I imagine H has some even uglier ones out in the shop 😉 Stay warm!

  4. marianne says:

    Heh. I don’t think they’re THAT ugly! in fact, if they keep your hands and fingers warm I’d even go as far as saying they’re beautiful. Essence does count, eh?
    Plus it’s nice to have a pair like that for workhorses.
    Remind me to tell you about the mittens I made that are keeping my hands and fingers warm.
    Oh dear, puppy time out. You really are a wonderful mom! and hey, we all tend to relax occasionally but it’s a good mom who knows it’s time to firm up and that’s just another reason why he loves you so :^)

  5. Emiko says:

    Those gloves aren’t ugly, they look like they’ve been put to use,which means they’re doing the job they’re supposed to 🙂

    I love that EM is Alpha-sorta lol! I guess I’m the alpha-sorta in my household and Frankie is the king of the castle. He’s moved up quickly in a span of 8 months, doncha think?

    Sorry to hear about Grover being mean to the other doggy. Grover’s got a good mom to spoil him, but also be stern when he needs to be reminded who’s in control. I need to learn some of that, because obviously I’m getting my arse whooped by a cat 98374932847392 less my size

  6. Rachel says:

    I’m super impressed that you managed to keep a pair of gloves for 20 years and not lose one. What’s your secret? 🙂

  7. April says:

    I haven’t knit much this winter at all. With it being so warm and basically nice…..don’t throw anything at me, I know it’s not fair…..we’ve been doing other things. I still have to finish a fingerless mitt I started last winter. lol I do have a knitted pair I used if the weather gets too icy but I still love my old stand by; a pair of black leather with thinsolate lining. lol. I’m a creature of habit, what can I say?

    The dominance issues we’re having right now involve a certain female cat who’s decided that no dogs in the house mean SHE rules the roost. Right on down to her trying to eat off my plate at dinner. Yeah……we’re working on that.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

