Good Morning. Good Morning.

How are we all today? I all is fine. I finally got outside for a walk with the big boy yesterday afternoon. We also went out this morning for a bit of a  walk. It is 25!!!!!  Balmy.  Almost Spring!!!!  We will do another short walk this afternoon when I get home from work.  After church yesterday, I was in a very very bad mood.  I decided it had to be the stupid weather and not walking with regularity.  Damn.  I had no idea how much I depended on it for my sanity.   So, after I had a bit of lunch, Grover and I went out for a walk.  We were out about 20 minutes and it was so damned cold.  I don’t usually have trouble with 20 degree temps, but it was really cold.   How can 25 this morning be ok and 22 yesterday was horrible????  We are to warm up to 40 by Wednesday.  YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!  I am truly truly so happy.   And, the walks helpso much.

I have a confession to make to you.   I have had a huge confidence issue with my inability to spindle spin.  I never could get the gist of it.   Well.  I decided I needed a good tool for the spinning.   Mom and I had given Peanut a Golding spindle and beginning spindling kit for her birthday last year.   I could not believe how balanced that spindle was.   I decided (since I have always adored Goldings) that I would order one that I would love to look at and learn to use.  I bit the bullet and did it.   Here it is. Well.  Here is the first try.  I had a kitty-helper.

So, I tried again.

It’s the Celtic Knot.  I love it and it the most balanced spindle I have ever used.   I’m still getting used to it and will report back as I go along.   I am blissful.

To send you on your way this Monday morning.  I will leave you with three major talents.  Debbie Reynolds, Gene Kelly and Donald O’Connor with “Good Mornin'” from Singin’ in the Rain

Have a wonderful Monday, all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Good Morning. Good Morning.

  1. heideho says:

    That is the most gorgeous spindle I’ve seen in ages! I love my Golding spindle, in spite of the fact that I dropped and broke it, making it an off-balance mess. Even in its current state it works better than my other, undamaged ones. Somedays just feel colder than others… bundle up and stay warm with the boy. I refuse to click on “Singing in the Rain” because I’m sick to death of the stuff! Hugs to you.

  2. Joy says:

    Warmer (or less cold) is definitely good! The low last night was about 28 (!) deg warmer than the night before – huge difference when dog-walking. That’s one gorgeous spindle – you’re tempting me ;o)

  3. Emiko says:

    wow, such a purdy spindle (but it still won’t take me to the dark side) 🙂

    can’t believe how cold it is everywhere else in the US. It’s been wet over here, so hard to get motivated to walk outside, but I finally got my arse out the door yesterday for HealthWalk2010 🙂 That big hill in my neighborhood kicked my butt, however!

    Great music to the start of a monday – maybe it’ll put me in a better mood as I get ready for work 🙂

  4. Cookie says:

    I think we’re used to cold in the morning, but somehow cold in the afternoon is just wrong and therefore harder on us.

    LOVE the spindle! I think the Golding ring spindles are the best spindles out there. They make figuring out the whole drop spindle thingy so much easier.

    Good luck!

    xo

  5. sophanne says:

    Lucky Grover. Liza got to watch me run in place w/the Wii tonight. She was unimpressed. Today’s musical selection makes me laugh. When I was in freezing cold South Africa growing weary of the new culture we would sing “Good Morning, Good morning….” and implied in the next line was “how’d you like to bite my a$$.”

  6. Peanut says:

    ooooohhhhh – you got a spindle! And a Golding! I’m so proud of you for trying again! (also, who is the enabler here? Technically you enabled me and then I enabled you? How does that work?) It’s so pretty! Remind me to show you my new one – our spindles can gossip about us

    (and do I recognize that roving?)

  7. margene says:

    Maybe how cold it feels depends on the humidity. It was very cold here last night as the heat kept coming on…rarely does it do that.
    Golding spindles are the best and it’s a very good spindle to learn with. You’ll still need loads of practice (it took me a month before making good yarn), but once it clicks, spinning is a joy.

  8. Kathleen C says:

    Beautiful spindle! Good luck with it!

    That is (one of) my favorite movie scenes ever. I have been known to sing that to my boys to get them up in the morning – when they were younger. Now they better be getting their ownselves up – I have enough trouble getting ME out of bed!

  9. marianne says:

    oh my goodness, your new spindle is GORGEOUS! and good for you! treating yourself to such a Beauty!
    I hear you on the ‘why does this feel colder?’ and sure, humidity plays a part, blah blah blah, but sometimes it just doesn’t make much sense. Happy Tuesday! xoxox

  10. JulieC says:

    Good luck with the spindling! I don’t feel very confident with it, either, but don’t have time to work on it right now. Whenever I go to the Golding site, I get lost in the Vintage and Decorative RingSpindle Collection. Oh, my — haven’t been there in awhile and now it’s got a part 2. Someday, if I’m ever a very good girl, maybe I’ll get one.

  11. April says:

    Oh sweetie…that spindle is beautiful! I had the same issues with drop spindling until I took a mini class at the guild this last summer. I discovered that it’s not so much me….but my home made spindles. lol. So I started up again. It’s more of a meditative process for me, so I don’t do it very often as I’m usually spinning for a speedier end in sight. lol I do plan on buying a “professionally” made one this summer. Your’s is simply wonderful. Keep up the good work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

