Superbowl? Big deal. We’re having a “Weather Event”!!!

Oh, sure, the Super Bowl is a thrill a minute for some, but for Middle Earth, snow is the most exciting thing in the world. Even 1-2″ is an event. The weatherdoofs will have us (or, somebody) worked up so that even a small amount of snow will upset everyone!!!  I wish somebody would give them some librium/valium something to calm their jagged nerves.  I suppose if you only predict sun/clouds/rain, then snow would be more exciting.    But, I am more than a tad sick of the hysteria surrounding weather.  Of course, if they divert our attention with “weather events” then, maybe we won’t notice all the other crappy stuff going on.   End of current rant.  No guarantee there will not be another.

I did not get much knitting or spinning done this weekend because I was working a bit on housekeeping.  Mom’s room for one and it’s not gonna be a small job.   That, plus cooking and making pup food and washing and running errands.  You know.  I was busy with not much to show.   At least, I dug in.  That has been the hardest part for me.

So, this is my second week of 3 days of work.  It is weird.  After 37 years, working only 3 days is weird.  Not horrible, but weird.  I’m not certain I can or want to get used to it.   Hopefully, things will change for the better by the end of the month.

I have spent a bit more time on Ravelry.  Not alot, but a bit.  I miss so much because I don’t spend much time on it.  I love looking at the patterns and friend’s activities, but otherwise, I don’t know much about it.  I have tried to read forums and everything, but they aren’t interesting enough for me to check every single day.  It must be me.  I know so many people that spend mucho time on Ravelry and are totally in the groove.  How much time do you have to spend on it to feel like you know what’s going on?  Inquiring minds would like to know.

It appears I’m a bit dull today.  I apologize.   I think it’s just the winter doldrums.  At least the sun shown Saturday and Sunday.  That helped, but I am ready for spring.  Completely ready.

To send you on your way this Monday morning, here’s my soundtrack of the day…..Mr. Bob Dylan singing one my favorites of his “It’s Alright Ma” (I’m only bleeding”.

Have a wonderful Monday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Superbowl? Big deal. We’re having a “Weather Event”!!!

  1. margene says:

    Dylan is always a good way to start the day. I hope you were able to do a little celebrating, even a piece of cake. Didn’t care about the Super Bowl but it was great to see the Who. Stay warm and cozy during your weather event. We’d sure like to see one here!!

  2. heideho says:

    You didn’t tell everyone you had a birthday on Saturday! Glad to hear that you’re pressing on… it’s hard to do and I’m very proud of you. Hugs to you and scritches to the critters.

  3. Joy says:

    I agree on the weather hysteria – guess it justifies their jobs, except someone should be keeping score on the accuracy thereof 😉

    Happy belated birthday!!!

  4. Emiko says:

    Birthday? You just tried to sneak that in without people knowing I see, you sneaky one you! 🙂

    Well Happy Belated Birthday my dear!

    Short week for me, as I’ll be going to Madrona on Friday, then Vegas for the weekend!

  5. JulieC says:

    Another happy belated birthday! As for your Ravelry question, I have not been reading forums (who has time?) until recently, and then only the Loopy Ewe Spring Fling discussions. I didn’t participate in them much before the first Fling, 2 years ago, and felt a little like an outsider. So I check in a few times a day to quickly read through what’s been posted. Still don’t post much myself.

    The weather event has hit here in the southeast part of the state. We were fortunate to have school called off before the buses were sent out to gather up the kids, only to have to navigate slippery roads to deliver them back home a little while later (which happened about 10 days ago).

  6. sophanne says:

    Happy Belated birthday my dear friend!

    My yard can be the cake and the snow can be the frosting- as long as you don’t mind dog leaping through it.

    Missed the superbowl. Did not miss the weather event. Am out of sorts myself with the change in routine here at Aunt’s house.

  7. Cookie says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! You sneaky boots!

    I think the weather people look for all the drama they can get because they weren’t very popular in high school. Just a theory. ;^)

    I think it takes a huge amount of time to stay current with the Big 6. Time that most (sane) people just don’t have. But I guess if you’re stuck at home with babies or something, it might be a way to interact with other adults. I guess. 😕

    There was a football game? Who knew?!

    xo

  8. marianne says:

    LOL! oh mercy yes, OHDEARLORDWE’REHAVINGWEATHER!!!!!
    well, you and I have discussed this issue. ;^)
    and I agree re: they’re just keeping us distracted (or rather trying to), with weather and other stooooopid ‘political’ people and their shenanigans (SP I’m lookin’ at YOU) because good heavens, there are more important issues at hand.
    Happy Happy (belated) Birthday to you, Dearheart.
    Ravelry? basically I do the same thing you do… and checking out patterns and what other folks have to say (about said pattern) and looking at their choices re: yarns and colours. gathering info.
    HUGS xoxox

Leave a Reply

