Busy knitting, with some weekend…..

It was a pretty darned nice weekend. Busy, but nice. Mardi Gras was celebrated down in Soulard (a cool neighborhood in the city of St. Louis) without too many incidents of rowdy drunken behavior. Lord help me. I am too old and it was too cold to go and stand around outside, drinking and trying to catch beads thrown from floats.   It sure looked like the people there were having fun, but that is not how I roll these days.   That, and I had the family (BB, BSIL, Peanut and her boyfriend “P”)over for dinner Saturday night.  Damn, we have some fun.   We had a marinated pork butt roast on the grill (thanks to BB who saved us from a seriously burned main dish;-P) and a fabulous potato salad (I got the recipe from the Food Network).   That, plus wine, port and chocolate.  It was great.  Then, Sunday morning I awakened at 5:00 a.m. and made breakfast for the homeless our church houses one night every month.   I was exhausted, but it is so energizing and heartwarming to do it.   I will do it as long as I can.

But, you didn’t come here for that, did you?  No!!!  You came for the incredible knitting photography and exciting knitting/spinning stories.  Right?   I watched 10 minutes of the opening ceremonies for the Olympics and gave up.  Too much yelling, overproduction and I couldn’t understand a word they were saying.  So, I knit a while and then went to bed……..but not before I took a picture of the Ribby Cardi.  Please excuse Ms. Stinky McFartbutt.  As my photostylist she has yet to understand that that does NOT mean she is in the picture.

The color is pretty true on my monitor.

I did some spinning during the Sunday afternoon Olympic games.   I’m mesmerized by the lesser known sports.  The men’s and women’s biathlon was fascinating to watch.  Grueling.  And, how exactly do they steady their breathing enough to shoot?   Very impressive.     I can tell as soon as the coverage is totally about the popular sports, I’ll lose interest and mosey on my way.  But, until that time, I will enjoy the lessers.  I’m hoping I can see the curling competition.

To send you on your way this bleary-eyed sleepy Monday morning, more Bob.  Here he is with the Band doing “I Can’t Come in with a Broken Heart”.  They aren’t kidding when they called it a basement tape.

Have a wonderful Monday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Busy knitting, with some weekend…..

  1. margene says:

    The “basement tapes” were my first “bootleg”. We were all a twitter with how subversive it was to “steal” music.
    You’ve had a very productive weekend and you packed in loads of good stuff…family, cooking, out door fun and service. You rock.

  2. marianne says:

    ahem. I would’ve taken the ‘stay home out of the cold’ also. unless I were to shaZam into a 20something yr old. and we know how that works out, not.
    I was marveling about the same thing and breathing with them, steady, breathe, steady, breathe, steady, breathe in, let it out, now!
    yep. curling.
    sounds like you had a pretty fabulous weekend! xox

  3. Joy says:

    Sounds like a good weekend to me! Ours was filled with family as well. I’m with you on the lesser-known sports. I tend to zone out on ones like cross country skiing – not enough happening I guess – have a good week!

  4. sophanne says:

    I am so immature- I really couldn’t concentrate anymore after I read “pork butt”

    I wish I could kick my butt into spinning- I liked it when I did it. I’m just too lazy to pull it together. Maybe the next snow day.

  5. heideho says:

    Happy Mardi Gras to you! Mardi Gras now represents for Lent what Santa does for Christmas. It’s the mass-marketed, expensive, fun hoopla part of the holiday. It sounds wickedly exciting and as neat as it would be to partake in the activities, I think the boisterous crowds would be too much stimulous for my middle-aged heart to handle. Throw in the sub-human temperatures and I’d be right there next to you on the couch watching. Love the deep, chocolate brown of your Ribby Cardi. I made one a few years ago and the darned thing shrank terribly. Seriously, I wish I’d made a size or two larger. I tried watching some of the Olympics, but viewing the snippets that NBC deems worthy of watching, between all of their commentators and special interest stories was exasperating. I’d love to just watch the more obscure sports and lower-placing athletes compete without listening to the experts’ opinions. Hope you have a good week and keep warm. Hugs to you.

  6. Emiko says:

    I’ve signed up for the Ravelympics but yet to knit a stitch on my WIPs that I hope to finish. It doesn’t help that I came back from my mini vacation with a cold and not wanting to do much of anything – ugh.

    Your weekend sounded great. You guys know how to enjoy a good dinner, always with some chocolate and port!!! I’m going to have to move closer to ya and hope to get invited to some kind of family event, lol 🙂

    The ribby cardi is lookin good! What a purdy color too.

Leave a Reply

