It wasn’t as bad as I expected, but it was no tiptoe thru the tulips, either.

I had my first screening colonoscopy on Friday at 6:20 a.m. If it has to be done, that’s the time to do it. Poor Grover got a quick walk around the block and then my BB picked me up and took me to the hospital for the procedure. It was an amazing experience. Although I know it is an essential tool for catching colon cancer early, it is also a very effective money making machine. They give out pagers. Seriously. So that you can be aware the nurses are looking for you. I was wondering where on earth I would want to wander off in a hospital that pagers were needed.  They also have a computer screen where your family can watch your progress (not watch the procedure, but your name and where you are). Like with airplanes and ETA’s. Really.  And, then the pagers alert your family/driver that you are in recovery.  My BB said it took less that 45 minutes for the whole shebang.   And, you know the drug of choice for this procedure?   Michael Jackson’s drug of choice, Propofal.  So, I survived and go back in five years.   Hopefully, it will be nothing but a dim memory by then.  BTW, if you need to get one, the procedure is nothing.  It’s the drinking of the laxative that is the hardest.   Doable, but nasty stuff.

Speaking of tulips?  Don’t have any yet.   It’s still a bit early in our part of the woods for tulips.  I do have daffodils in my yard.  And, the hyacinths are thinking really hard about popping out and blooming.   The temps were in the 50’s and 40’s all weekend.  Spring fights hard to get to Middle Earth, but we should be in the 60’s by mid-week.   Not bad.

Knitting?   Nothing to show at all.  I didn’t even spin this past weekend.   I need to settle myself down and get back at it.   There really is no excuse for not enjoying either one.

Today is the first Monday of Spring.   I hope you can enjoy it.   If not by being outside much, at least by knowing the weather will be wonderful soon.   I look at my back yard and cringe.   I’m thinking I best get my butt in gear.  I have to get most of this stuff done now.   By May or June, it will be too late.

The picture of Stinky McFartbutt?   It’s just that she hasn’t been in the blog lately, due to her inability to leave Grover and me the hell alone at night.   I have started snuggling with her in the morning after her exile.  She is responding much better.   My BSIL has stated that she thinks I need another kitty to keep Stinky company.  I think she’s right, but will wait until after our July trip.   It’s expensive enough boarding a cat and a behemoth.  Two cats are one too many right now.   Still, I can’t help but feel that Stinky needs a pal.   That trip will be interesting.  We will all go to meet the cats.   Grover, Stinky and me.  That should be awesome blog fodder.   Something to look forward to;-D

So, I will leave you on this Monday morn with my soundtrack for the day.  I love this band.  Now as much as before.   Here is Buffalo Springfield with “Rock and Roll Woman”

Happy Monday, all!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It wasn’t as bad as I expected, but it was no tiptoe thru the tulips, either.

  1. margene says:

    Sticky is cute, too bad she can be a pain…two might work or you’ll have two pains in the ….
    It’s good to hear there were no problems! Good for you.

  2. heideho says:

    Glad that the procedure went well for you. Too early for tulips here too, but some are trying mightily hard to open. ]\\\\\ Sorry, Roxie’s helping me type this morning. Where are you going in July? Happy Monday!

  3. marianne says:

    wha??? you didn’t get The Snow this past weekend? Sure was pretty, ‘was’ because the sun is out this morning and no doubt will be all gone by evening (except for north facing little hidy holes).
    Glad the procedure went well :^) and here’s to 5 years free until doing it again.
    Stinky, she’s looking adorable on purpose, right? xox

  4. Emiko says:

    Glad your procedure went well. Pages in hospitals, with updates on patient status.. not bad!

    So where’s your July destination gonna be? Sounds like a big trip! Maybe you’re onto Missy E wanting another feline partner. Speaking of not letting you sleep, Frank’s been incessant in head butting me and biting my nose every morning eeeeaaaaaaarly to get fed. I hate it, but I love it, does that make sense?

    Happy Monday1

  5. Cookie says:

    I’m glad it was a simple thing to have done. Pagers? How interesting. When my mother had her eye done, they demanded cell phone numbers because it was a couple of hours of waiting and figured people would wander off.

    Spring will be there before you know it. In the meantime, enjoy not having to mow while it lasts.

    xo

  6. JessaLu says:

    Good for you for taking care of yourself!

  7. Joy says:

    Glad things went well. Sounds like the rest of the week might be pretty spring-ish – enjoy!

  8. Nora says:

    Oh, good for you for getting it done. I need to, and I have to admit to being a chicken. You’re inspiring me.

Leave a Reply

