A barrel of monkies, or an oak cask?

There was an unexpected delight this weekend. My BB and BSIL and I went to REI where we each purchased a pair of socks. I know. We are excitement personified. From there, we journeyed to Penzey’s. BSIL and I needed to restock. We got the necessary items and were talking to the clerks and they told us about a new shop down the street. Vom Fass.   The store is only the third one in the U.S.  There are about six in Europe.

What a fabulous place.   They have flavored oils, balsamic vinegars, whiskeys, cognacs, vodka, gin, etc.   All made by them.   You can taste the product before purchasing.  I got Truffle oil.  Lovely.  My BSIL got Basil oil.  We also got balsamic vinegars.   She got a beer vinegar and I got Aceto Balsamico di Modena Maletti Riserva Speciale.  My BSIL also got a small bottle of the Reserve.  We tasted wines.  A perfectly lovely experience.   I took a friend a catalog.   He is a gourmet chef and was wondering about it.   It seems someone else told him about the shop.   It sure makes cooking lots more fun!!  It is owned by a lovely lady from Switzerland and will become a regular haunt for BSIL and me.

I’m looking forward to making a reduction with the balsamic vinegar.  I’ll let you know how it turns out.   Anyway,  that’s what we found this weekend.

The new week is upon us, so I’m going to leave you with a mover.   Enjoy!!!  It’s the Rolling Stones 1964 and “Fade Away” with Brian Jones on harmonica.   Yup.  They’re talented.

Happy Monday, all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A barrel of monkies, or an oak cask?

  1. margene says:

    You have a Penzey’s!? We order from the all the time (and need to place an order this week). Smith is envious. I’m envious of Vom Fass! Too cool. Not fade away is one of my favorite songs!

  2. marianne says:

    whoa doggies, that tune takes.me.back! :^)
    What fabulous stores you have in your neck of the woods!!!!!
    Sounds like it was one fabulous day! xox

  3. Joy says:

    Oh yum – sounds fab. Thanks for the tip – will have to check it out *soon*! Have a great week.

  4. heideho says:

    Voss Fam sounds like a wonderful shop. Glad you got out and about this weekend. Spring is upon us and hopefully there will be no weekends shut inside for a long time. Happy Monday!

  5. sophanne says:

    Happy Monday and I’m on Spring Break.

    Glad you found some magic potions.

  6. Cookie says:

    How wonderful!

    xo

  7. Emiko says:

    You’re so lucky you have a Penzey’s store you can go to. I only have the catalog option.

    That beer vinaigrette sounds so interesting, and the shop as a whole too. I’d probably walk out with more than I intended (as I would in a Penzeys), but that’s part of the fun, isn’t it? Hell, what store do I NOT walk out of more than intended, really? 🙂

  8. Diane says:

    You went to REI and got a pair of socks. Then you went to Penzey’s and got the necessary items. Just when I was despairing of your ability to let loose and SHOP, you buy truffle oil. Good girl.

    So what does it taste like and how will you use it?

Leave a Reply

