Eight enormous elephants expertly eating Easter eggs

My apologies for the tininess.  It was too large to scan and post without editing and making it about 33% smaller.  Still, you can see the picture and get the general idea. I do love this  illustration.

Now.  It is Wednesday in our world (and, probably elsewhere) and I need input.  I want to paint the bathroom walls to accent an Easter egg.   The eggs are lavender/periwinkle, lime green, blue and red and yellow.  I love yellow, but do not want to use it on the bathroom walls.  Yellow accentuates the flaws in the drywall and I don’t want to stand at the sink and inspect the drywall flaws every morning, if you get my drift.  I am leaning toward lime green or sky blue, but I’m open to almost anything (except the yellow).  My living room and dining room walls and butternut squash yellow and I think that is enough yellow for any home.

Please let me know.  I value your opinions and tastes.  Seeing it in the blog makes me love it even more (if that’s possible).  I’m also a bit uncertain about a frame for the print.   It’s an unusual size, so I’m wondering if I should get a large black frame and matt it with another accent color.  What do you think?

As I await the wisdom and incredible good taste of my dear friends, here is my soundtrack for the day…………..The Ozark Mountain Daredevils (a Missouri band of maniacs) and “If You Wanna Get to Heaven”.  I love this song and it was a huge hit when I got out of college.  Enjoy.

Have a great one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Eight enormous elephants expertly eating Easter eggs

  1. sophanne says:

    Love Love Love it!

    I love the font changes in the text too-

    If I were painting and framing, I’d go for the periwinkle (maybe a little lighter than the actual color in the print) for the walls and a matt to match the fez. (and remember, Brandon Mabley said I was brilliant) Of course- I think sometimes all of his colors look like a stinky mcfartbutt hairball so I’m not sure what that’s worth!

  2. heideho says:

    I second the choice of a pale periwinkle for the walls. Definitely a black frame, but the matte may be too much. With all of the color in the print a layered, multi-colored matte would take away from the picture, rather than add to it… perhaps a single colored matte. LOVE this picture!

  3. joyknits says:

    Love, love, love the alliteration 🙂 Perhaps the first consideration is what YOU want to look at practically first thing every morning. Enjoy!

  4. Emiko says:

    I like sky blue in a bathroom. My sis has it in hers and I like it!

    Love the elephant photo. I think a black frame would be great as a border.

  5. Beth in StC says:

    Definitely pick a color that makes you happy first thing in the morning (a tall order some days, especially after last night’s 4 AM to 5 AM storm…) I’d go with the periwinkle blue myself, if I wasn’t already planning to paint our bathroom pale lemon yellow; it’s a windowless tunnel of builder gray-white now. The green in the Easter egg would be pretty too, if you could lighten it several shades.

  6. marianne says:

    Oh Good Golly!!! I LOVE the elephants!!!! I read through the post quickly then clicked on the photo/whatev to really get a good look at it, clicked on it again and got the even larger view.
    My thoughts for colours? the periwinkle/lavender for the walls and that gorgeous orange of the fez for the matt.
    THEN I went to the comments and found Sophanne had the same thoughts. heh.
    but yes, it’s what YOU want to see, be looking at. colours are pretty amazing having effects on how we feel.
    hey, I remember those boys :^) XOX

  7. Grace says:

    I love green (so calming), so that is what I would pick, but I agree with Beth–go with what will make you happiest when you first wake up in the morning. And I LOVE the print! So fun!

  8. margene says:

    That is one fantastic poster!! It’s happy and funny, perfect for first thing in the morning. I laughed out loud just now.
    You do what you think will make you happy, but I’d go with lime green walls, a red matt and a brownish colored frame.

  9. Cookie says:

    Wonderful print!

    While I do love a green bathroom, I would go with the blue for the walls. The print would pop against that color and it should be fairly easy to find towels and things to go with that color. I would not use a black frame. I think that might be a bit too stark for such a whimsical thing. Perhaps a white frame and a colored mat. If you have a pro frame it, you should be able to see a million options for it.

    Then you can pull in any or all (or none) of the other colors in the print as accent colors in your bathroom.

    xo

  10. Diane says:

    So tell me, where did you ever find such a wonderful poster/illustration? I vote for the periwinkle walls and a non-black frame.

  11. Rachel says:

    Love it love it love it! I like the grey/aubergine color of the elephants hat on the right of the picture or the red/orange of the spectacles of the bespectacled elephant. If I were dyeing yarn that’s what I would use as a base color. Then again, my color-sense usually goes on feet, not on walls, so take my advice with a grain of salt.

  12. Nora says:

    I think the blue would be lovely. I’d include the red shade in the matting or the frame.

    Really great print!

    xo

  13. crafterscupboard says:

    Hey! If you havn’t painted yet……lol. I know it’s late to chime in and the others all have great ideas, but I have a question. Is this a room you do your make up in? Keep in mind that a green background can sometimes make somone look ill or washed out so I’d go with a blue or orangish and matt the pic with the green. 🙂

Leave a Reply

