Fabulous freakish fascinating fanciful FRIDAY!!

Alliteration has gone to my brain. It’s FRIDAY!!! No work this Friday.   That’s ok.  Yesterday I spent most of the day running errands.  I went and had the oil changed and the a/c charged in the old sedan.  Then,  I ran to the bank to deposit my check.  Then, the grocery store for supplies.  Then, I met my David for lunch.  We had a lovely time and then parted ways (we may be meeting up today again.  Some confusion and frustration with a big box electronics store, if you can imagine).  On my way home from lunch, I stopped at another grocery store for the things my basic grocery store doesn’t carry, like roasted red peppers.  I am still floored that they don’t carry roasted red peppers  or roasted tomatoes.  I saw Rachel Ray make the most yummy looking gazpacho and decided immediately that I needed some this week.  The shrimp and chorizo skewers look mighty good, too, but that’s a bit over the top for cooking single.  Anyway, I came home and had a glass of water and a chat with the kidz and then realized I didn’t have all the fixins for Grover’s food this week.  Of course, you know what I did.  I got in the car and went to ANOTHER grocer store for canned jack mackerel, and canned veggies.  I was truly sick of driving to and from grocery stores by that point.

I did need quite a bit of stuff.  Saturday is Peanut’s birthday party.  I’m making Rum Cake for her birthday cake.   She also wants Moosetracks ice cream, so she’ll get it.  I’m just not real sure how well it will go with the Rum Cake.  Have you ever made one?   They are amazing if you like rum.  Moist and flavorful.  You also use dark rum.   Has a bit more umph to it.  I’m making it today so that it can sit for 24 hours.  Rum Cake is always much better when it sits for a bit.

Oh, I forgot to mention that the roses are from our gone-wild rose bush next to the deck.  It was a lovely red tea rose 20 years ago, but went wild after a particularly beastly winter.  When it bloomed the next summer it had gone wild.  I love it.  No scent, but roses everywhere every year.

Now, I will send you wending your way to your weekend (told ya) with Pentangle once more.  Here is “Train Song”.  Enjoy.

Have a good one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fabulous freakish fascinating fanciful FRIDAY!!

  1. sophanne says:

    chorizo and gazpacho probably go together because they both have the letter z in them. I have no idea what either is.

  2. heideho says:

    Good Friday morning! I LOVE your wild rose bush. Rum cake sounds delightful. Grover is a lucky pup to have such an attentive mom. My kids don’t eat half as well. Hugs to you. Hope you enjoy Peanut’s birthday celebration.

  3. joyknits says:

    Gorgeous roses! You can get Goya chorizo in packages of 4 little links and it seems to keep practically forever in the meat drawer, just sayin’ 😉 Cake sounds awesome – have a great weekend!

  4. margene says:

    Wild roses are so beautiful, but so ethereal. Gazpacho is one of my favorite meals and while chorizo would be good with it, I think gazpacho stands alone. Maybe rum would make a GF cake taste better. 😉
    Have a lovely celebration!!

  5. marianne says:

    gah, hates it when that happens, having to go back out to yet another grocery store.
    hello? your David?
    Those roses are gorgeous. Blue ate roses, the blossoms. in one mighty mouthful. ???
    Happy Weekend, Happy Birthday Peanut, Enjoy!!!!!
    XOXOX

  6. Cookie says:

    I hope it’s at least a week before you have to visit another grocery store.

    Love the roses!

    xo

  7. Diane says:

    You have been a busy woman. And rum cake — awesome. Love, love, love it. Haven’t made it for a while, maybe it’s time to pull out the bundt pan.

    So, are you getting this marvelous sunshine? No more rain for at least 5 days! And some heat for a bit. I’ll take it.

  8. Emiko says:

    Oh man, that rum cake sounds divine… recipe? 🙂

    We drove through quite a bit of the wet stuff in Middle Earth and came back to some wet stuff at home too, go figure. Hope things dry out for you guys there soon!

  9. Rachel says:

    Now I’m hungry. Happy belated birthday to Peanut!

Leave a Reply

