A year past. Who knows where the times goes?

A year ago yesterday, my Mom left for a better place. I miss her and it can be quite empty in my heart sometimes, but not often anymore. I was blessed with a fabulous, caring, funny, loving and smart Mom and I thank the Lord for her every day. It is now time to move on with my own life. I’ve been claiming little bits here and there lately, but I feel free now to celebrate my days as I need and choose.  I have sat shiva long enough.  In fact, way long enough.

I did rip my Milkweed and restart it.  I’m re-enjoying it, too;-P  It really is fun to knit.

I have no pictures today, either.  I have been too darned hot (I feel a song coming on) and this sudden onset of heat and humidity have taken the stuffing right out of me.   It is supposed to moderate a bit this weekend, so I’m hoping I will feel a bit more like taking part in the outside world.   I can’t even get Grover interested.   I sent him to day-care on Monday to play with his friendz and picked him up about 4:30 p.m.   I brought him home and fed him and took him out to do his “business” and he went under the dining room table and went fast asleep.  He awakened at 8:15 p.m and went to his night-night bed (that’s the name we use here at Chez Silly).  He did not rouse until 5:30 a.m.

And, I have poison ivy.  It’s a tiny little patch on my right wrist, but it annoys me and irks me and I have finally caved on the gloves thing.  I do solemnly swear that I will wear gardening gloves from now on.

I also had a realization.  I really don’t like ironing and most of my spring/summer wardrobe needs ironing.  It looks better and I feel better having done it, but I must remember to not buy fabrics that need ironing until I have my own maid.   I would dearly love an entire wardrobe of linen.

This has been a truly random Wednesday post, but I forgot to use bullets.   I wonder if that will disqualify me from the “Random Wednesday” bloggers’ club?

To send you on your way on this mid-week day, here is the magnificent Nina Simone and “Who Knows Where the Time Goes?”

Have a wonderful day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A year past. Who knows where the times goes?

  1. margene says:

    Time has quickly and your doing a very good job of creating yourself (love the button) anew.
    Milkweed will grow nicely the second time as you know the pitfalls. I’m always better the second time around. Don’t scratch your poison ivy! Get some of that pink stuff to put on it.
    I have a bunch of Nina on my iPod. Her voice is so wonderful and rich.

  2. heideho says:

    I hope you get a humidity break and that your poison ivy clears up. Big sloppy hugs to Grover and dignified chin scritches to Esau Marie. I think your mom was very lucky to have had such a loving and wonderful daughter to share her life with. The warm memories you have of your time together are priceless and if you feel like crying, laughing, dancing or breaking something as you recall them then do it. But Margene is right… don’t scratch.

  3. marianne says:

    I think it safe to say we’ve all been holding you close this past year, some of us well familiar with all the sign posts, and know.
    You’re doing well :^)
    ditto on the weather, blech.
    I agree with Margene (surprise surprise) it’s always easier the second time around.
    nooooooooo. poison ivy!!! I found a product a couple of years ago, calagel, maximum strength, it may have been a little pricey, can’t remember but I still have plenty of it and it works well, therefore worth every penny.
    Wonderful tune :^)
    it’s Wednesday? XOX

  4. sophanne says:

    I love you- my remedy of choice to what ails you (poison ivy) is benadryl and air conditioning with a side of grover.

  5. Beth in StC says:

    We’re hoping for a break this weekend too; I have nine hours in the car on Saturday and two hours on Sunday. At least I’ll have a lot of knitting time, and the pool should be tolerably warm when we are done.

    I hate ironing so much, I managed to “lose” my iron for almost three years after our latest move. Unfortunately next week I’m moving to another office with a different dress code. Time to start ironing again!

  6. Diane says:

    Sitting shiva gives you a chance to find balance again after major life changes; now it’s time to appreciate what your Mom left behind.

    I’m still happy, happy about the sun (and no rain!) so I’ll take the heat that goes with it.

    Hang in there.

  7. joyknits says:

    What they said with a side of hugs to you and skritches to the fur kidz! Sounds like we *might* get a bit of a break from this July-in-May crud.

  8. Cookie says:

    It’s so hard to believe that’s already been a year. Time certainly flies. I am so glad that you are feeling ready to restart, renew and begin again. I hope the weather will be gentler to you and that poor little doggie. So hot so early in the season is just cruel.

    Can you pull your things out of the dryer as soon as it stops? Would that save you from the worst of the ironing? If I lived closer, I would happily do it for you as I enjoy ironing. Yes, I know, but you’ve always known I was a weirdo.

    xo

  9. Emiko says:

    It sure does fly by fast. Part of my road trip this month was for the boyfriend to bring his grandpa’s truck home with us and for him to be able to bring back some of his father’s belongings, like his fishing stuff. It does get easier, but going through his stuff got a little emotional all over again of course. But glad you’re taking bits back here and there and doing your thing *hugs*

    Boyfriend’s brother was in FL with a nasty case of poison ivy too. His legs looked like he was wrestling with some huge jellyfish, lol. Yes, wear gloves and don’t scratch!

    I hate hate hate ironing. I hardly have any clothes that require it, but boyfriend’s work shirts need ironing so I can’t get away from it – argh!

  10. crafterscupboard says:

    I have no idea where the time goes! I can not believe it’s been a year already for you. But then again…..I can’t believe this is the year of my 20th class reunion either. lol If it weren’t for Facebook, I wouldnt’ believe it at all…or have the courage to go. 😉 I can NOT believe how fast the time goes. Can you believe Tucker is now 3 1/2 years old?!!! Remember when he was a cute puppy acting out ?!!! Now he’s an adult dog that acts out to test his boundries and because he thinks he’s not getting enough attention! Remember when he weighed less than 100 lbs?!!!! I DO! 🙂 I miss those days sometimes! But then I look into those deep brown wise eyes and am glad he’s an adult now. 🙂 They are sooo sooo special. 🙂 I’m glad you have Grover…and I’m glad he and Tucker keep you and I bonded together. 🙂 I love ya girlie, even if I’ve never seen ya! You certainly are special to me and you package pile just keeps growing so I better mail it soon before I can’t afford it! lol

Leave a Reply

