It is Friday. Does this week make my butt look big?

It is finally Friday, after a long and arduous four whole days. I tell you it is exhausting. Southern (or, Mason Dixon) belle that I be.  We suffer from a huge identity crisis in St. Louis.  We are split in half by the Mason Dixon line (caused some horrible repercussions during the Civil War), so I’m never sure if I’m a Damned Yankee or a Southern Belle.  So, since I don’t really know, I’m neither.  I’m a dweller of Middle Earth, but I don’t have hairy feet (thank God).  I have enough issues without worrying about the hairy feet thing.   I am horribly short, but I don’t think I’m a Hobbit.   I don’t live in those adorable houses and I don’t go barefoot all year round.  I wouldn’t mind running into Ian McKlellan as Gandolf,(or even Richard III)  though.  Oh, and yes, I know he doesn’t swing my way.  I can still adore from afar thankyouverymuch.  Does anyone remember the Beach Boys song “California Girls”?  Well, I’m a Midwest girl and “the Midwest farmer’s daughters really make you feel alright.”  WTF?????????  Is that lame or what?   Was Brian too fried to come up with something more clever or was he just as clueless as he seemed?  You know I thought I was past being p.o’d about that issue, but it seems it still makes me mad.  It really isn’t worth it, but I can work up a rant on no notice at all.

I have no pictures.  This has been a lamo week.   I carry the camera everywhere yet seem incapable of thinking about it.   I have no pics of Grover or Stinky or knitting or spinning or garden or anything.  I need to get my act in gear and I apologize.  Seriously, I love this blog and I want it to be entertaining, so  it’s very nice to have colors and designs and stuff stuck in between the words.  I’m all for illustrated books.  I grew up on them and if I could read adult illustrated books (as opposed to graphic novels) I would love them.   I have absolutely nothing against graphic novels (I love the artwork), but I would love to see what an illustrator thought Stephanie Plum or Kinsey Millhone looked like, wouldn’t you?  And, I don’t think the actress who plays Temperance Brennan looks like I thought she would look and I have found the series rather disappointing and judgmental.   My niece, Peanut, and I had a short conversation about that recently.  Gad.  I’m so opinionated this morning.

So, for the time being (for now.  this moment.  maybe temporarily) I am working four days a week and my day off is Monday.  I am not complaining, but I am so easily confused anymore.

I hope you all have a wonderful weekend.  This one is not 3 or 4 days long.   Try to remember that.   I will leave you with a video of “California Girls” by the Beach Boys.  Please watch this and let me know if you think they are singing a different song or not.  At first I thought they were ripped and they very well might have been, but I think this is just one of those bizarre videos of the era that made no sense whatsoever.

Have a fabulous wonderful warm and relaxing weekend.  Seriously.  You do not want me coming up there, so you just better behave misbehave.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to It is Friday. Does this week make my butt look big?

  1. Diane says:

    Why no, from here you look mahhhhvelous (said in a voice imitating Billy Crystal imitating Ricardo Montalban).

    Temperance Brennan? What series is she in that I’ve missed?

    Next week take one picture and call it good. It’ll be fine. Oh and look, I just gained a day. I thought today was June 5 and it’s only the 4th. Neato. See you on the flipside.

  2. heideho says:

    Forget Stephanie Plum, I want to know what Ranger looks like! Glad it’s Friday too. We’re supposed to take A3 hiking with her Brownie troop tomorrow and of course, it’s pouring buckets. Your words paint pictures, so don’t worry about the camera. Soggy Hugs from the Land of Rain.

  3. Cookie says:

    Honey, you’re just fine.

    I still vividly remember checking into a Spanish hotel (in 1988) and having some man come up to me and express surprise that I had dark hair and did not have a huge rack. I told him I wasn’t a slut either but I was traveling with some girls who were all three. Poor thing had no idea what to say.

    xo

  4. joyknits says:

    Hey, being opinionated puts you in great company … like Elizabeth Zimmermann ;o) Have a great weekend!

  5. Emiko says:

    I thought I was the hobbit – I pictured you as a tall one 🙂
    Hey, at least you’ve been keeping up w/ the blogging. I haven’t knit, blogged or taken a photo since I got back from vaca.

    I need to snap out of my funk and get active! Maybe I can do that this weekend. And I hope we have some relatively better weather. I don’t think it’s been above 63-ish around here – I mean, c’mon it’s June for crying out loud! 🙂

    Have a wonderful weekend. Thanks (not really, hehehe) for the reminder that it’s not a 3 day weekend. But can it, can it? I’d sure like one! 😉

  6. Ariadneo says:

    I hope your weekend is a lovely one! 🙂 It’ll probably rain here all weekend, but hey….there are worse things. Pictures or not, you’re still highly entertaining to read. 🙂 Love ya!

  7. yoel says:

    I hear you about the weird blandness of St Louis. That Beach Boys song is so much better if you sing “wink wink” (and wink along) after each line, like “The midwest farmer’s daughter makes you feel alright, wink wink.”

  8. Nora says:

    OK, you need to warn me when you’re going to have a funny title like that, because I almost spit out my coffee.

    And then Cookie writes about racks.

    As far as I can tell, the Bones series bears no resemblence to the novels. Big disappointment.

    xoxo

  9. marianne says:

    I can’t really tell, not seeing you and all, but it definitely has my butt looking big (damn Bobby and his chzcake!) and I love you, it’s all good over here.
    heck yeah, bring Ranger and Joe on! (although I already know what they look like ;^) I’m thinking actually seeing a Lulu would cause my eyes to explode. Temperance… I felt the same way when the series started, it just didn’t click with me so I let go of my preconceived notions and just took it for what it was (as in a very far cry from the books) and then I started enjoying it.
    Cookie cracked me completely up. and I’m trying to figure out how we can send some of the coughlovelycough heat to Emiko.
    and yes, I’m late, it’s Saturday.
    XOXOXOX

Leave a Reply

