Learned Lessons

The Tour de Fleece started on Saturday.  I joined Team Cranky Pants and I aim to make my team (and myself) proud this year.  You wanna know how?  Well, I’ll tell you.  By actually spinning.  Yes.  I will spin this year.  I joined last year and promptly messed up and quit.   This year I’m almost finished with the other yarn and I have pre-drafted my roving.  And,I have learned lessons this year.

1.   As osteoarthritis sets in, predrafting is essential, not optional.   My spinning teacher implied that predrafting was not required and you could easily spin from the fold.  Maybe earlier, but not now.  At least, not for me.

2.  Lace weight yarn is not really easy for someone like me with osteoarthritis.   My hands hurt alot when I try to spin laceweight or fingerweight.  If I have to spin DK or worsted, so be it.   I don’t mind.  At least I’m still spinning.

3.  Just do it.

I don’t consider these small lessons.   In fact.  I think these are huge and I’m thrilled to have discovered them.   It’s continuing to spin that’s the most important for me.

I will show you pix later this week.  I’m almost done with the neverending Desert Sky/Sundown/Sunrise/Sunset/whatever.  It is  astoundingly uneven and immature spinning, but it’s been a  long haul with this roving, so I’m quite pleased with the results.  I will show you my finished skein and the new spinning as soon as I can.

So, have a wonderful Monday and I will leave you with my soundtrack for the day.  Neil Young and CSN with “Down by the River”.

Have a great day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Learned Lessons

  1. Diane says:

    Huzzah for spinning! Glad to have you as a team mate! I’m going to have to pace myself, I jumped in with a little too much enthusiasm this weekend and my hands and hips are a little sore. But there’s so much pretty fiber I want to try before the wheel goes home.

  2. margene says:

    Rah, rah for our team member!! It’s going to be difficult to explain to Cookie how much time I spent in the garden vs spinning. At least one of us is worthy.

  3. marianne says:

    Cheering you On! and I completely agree, those are major lessons!
    I pondered the joining in but I’m such a mess when it comes to playing in large groups, must be all that running with scissors business ;^)

    Happy Holiday Monday! XOXOXOX

  4. marianne says:

    ps… oh good lord, Neil was impossibly young then, fell.in.love. or something :^D

  5. Those are indeed valuable lessons! There is nothing wrong with predrafting even if you don’t have osteoarthritis.

    As for the lace weight – I used have one heck of a time with pain in my hands while spinning fine and it was because I was having to pinch sooo hard to keep all that twist you need for fine yarns out of the drafting triangle. I did find if I bent the yarn over my index finger that stopped the twist from entering the drafting triangle and I didn’t have to pinch very much at all. I thought I’d share just in case you don’t have to give up spinning lace weight… If it isn’t clear give a holler and I’ll try to do a blog post about it sometime during Tour de Fleece even though I had not delusions of taking part this year 🙂

  6. Cookie says:

    Woo Hoo!

    I’m so proud of you for figuring out what will work for you and making it happen. Btw, please remind our Margene that my only demand for the Tour is that she join. Spin, don’t spin, only think about spinning. I don’t care. She’s already joined us, so I’m happy.

    xo

  7. joyknits says:

    Personally, I usually do some pre-drafting even when spinning from the fold, if only to loosen the fibers up a bit. Like EZ’s “you’re in control of your knitting,” you’re also in control of your spinning. If it works for you, and gives you the results you want, then go for it!!!

  8. Becky says:

    And so I shall… Maybe.

  9. Emiko says:

    Glad you’re doing the spinning – I think I need to follow Step #3 in your quest for tour de fleece and pick up my knitting (and blogging!) eh? 🙂

    Got today off – yippee! Look forward to seeing what you’ve spun up!

Leave a Reply

