The road to hell is paved with …………..

I had very good intentions, people. I planned on recording my entire vacation. I even planned on taking pix of my family. This is the only picture that I took.
It is a bronze sculpture above the entrance to a Synagogue in downtown Chicago.   It was huge and powerful.  I took it no more than 20 minutes after disembarking the Metra train.  I love it, but do wish I had a few more to share with you.   It was a busy and rushed time and I enjoyed it all.   We went to Lil Bit’s college, the Art Institute of Chicago, and walked through the Modern Art Museum.  It was ok by me, but when we got to the third floor I was enthralled.  Max Ernst, Salvador Dali, Pablo Picasso.  Truly fabulous!!  We did the Navy Pier which is a tourist trap, but when you can get a view of Lake Michigan like this one, no complaints.  I grew up spending three weeks every August with my Grandma (my Mom’s mom) in Waukesha, Wisconsin.   We would make a day of going to the beach on Lake Michigan in Milwaukee every year and those memories are precious to me.  I vividly remember sprinting across the sand (so hot it burned the soles of my little kid’s  asbestos feet) to jump into the lake which in August was usually around 70F.  It was pretty darned cold.  We didn’t make it to the beach, but that was alright.   We also saw where Lil Bit works and the people she works with.  She works in Water Tower on Michigan Blvd.  IMPRESSIVE.   After seeing that, we wandered to the Newberry Library. They were having their annual book sale.  I only got two books since I had to haul them home.

The last day there, we went to Wicker Park.  They were having a festival.  We have an area here in St. Louis called the Delmar Loop which is like Wicker Park, but Wicker Park is like the Loop on steroids.   We ate at a restaurant called Ear Wax Cafe. The food was quite good and the ambiance was wonderful.   We also hit Myopic Books which is a used book store.   I got “The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo” by Stieg Larssen there.

Our last evening with Lil Bit in Chicago was spent at a local Italian restaurant called Renaldi’s. They had outside tables and the weather was heavenly so we sat outside and ate the best pizza I have ever eaten and drank and enjoyed each other’s company.   It was wonderful.

The biggest downside for me?   The noise.   It was so loud all the time that my ears are still swollen and my hearing is still sub par.   I will survive.  That, and the tremendous expense, were the only downsides for me.   I will go back.  My Lil Bit is there.

It is Hump Day, people!!!   Here is my soundtrack.  Tuesday the temperature was 102F here in Middle Earth.  Guess what my song is????  Nope.  Not the Lovin’ Spoonful.  This is my all time favorite song by Bryan Adams “Summer of ’69” and this is a great version.

Have a good one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The road to hell is paved with …………..

  1. Sophanne says:

    I think sometimes it’s good to have a great time and not spend time trying to capture it with a camera. The times I’ve done that have seemed so freeing in a way.

  2. margene says:

    You went to see family and have some fun. That often doesn’t jib with camera work.
    I heard the heat index for St. Louis was 112!! Are you and you housemates surviving? How are you surviving! Sending cool thoughts your way.

  3. Emiko says:

    Sounds like you had a great time! I want to read that book/series too, but I’ll have to add it to the already long list of books to read.

    The city definitely has its noise, for sure. During my college years, I loved the business of city life, but I now long for quiet and a slower pace of life. Didn’t think I’d find myself saying this, lol 🙂

  4. Rachel says:

    What a great vacation! Who needs pictures when you have all those memories? 🙂

  5. Joy says:

    Fabulous! Used to love, love, love the Art Institute when I got to Chicago years ago. Try to stay cool!

  6. heideho says:

    What wonderful times you enjoyed. Outside eating is the best too. I’m totally with you on the noise thing.

  7. Cookie says:

    I think it’s a sign of what a good time you had that you don’t have more photos. ;^)

    xo

  8. Kristi says:

    I rarely take photos when I got back to MN unless my sister and I specifically set out to have a photo day or excursion for that purpose. It gets hard to enjoy the company and such when you are viewing everything through a camera.

  9. marianne says:

    That sculpture is AWEsome! Truly. and if that’s the only photo you have to show.. well, I’ll say this, you chose Well!
    Busy fun times you had, picnic packed :^)
    I’m so tired of this heat, gah. The only upside is the grass hasn’t grown to speak of ;^) XOX

Leave a Reply

