Another glorious summer Friday. Happy Friday!!!

It is Friday. I’m happy it is Friday. I’m not so into the glorious summer part of it. When I was a child, my Grandmother (who insisted we call her Grandmother, not Grandma) informed us that our family does not sweat. I remember being very confused because at the time, I was sweating. She told my brother and me that we, as a family, perspired profusely.  We have laughed about that ever since.  She’s been gone for 40 years, but it still makes me laugh when I think about it.

This summer has been a sweaty summer.  It’s been hot and the dew point averages have been over 70F almost constantly.   Under 70, it’s pretty good, over 70 and there is no evaporation to cool you off.  Anyway you cut it it’s been hot.  So, if you haven’t had horribly hot weather, YAY!!!!!!  If you have, let’s meet for a drink.  How about Little Rock, AK?   I think that might be the epicenter of hell this summer.

I have been knitting, though.  It seems I have figured out that the heat will eventually subside and coolness will prevail.  At least, I’m hoping that’s what happens.  I finished my Red Scarf project scarf for OFA.  I am currently knitting a vest to keep me warm.   I have not had a vest in years, but it seems like a great idea so that I can keep the house a bit cooler. I’ll share with you soon.

I plan on working out in the back cutting brush that my brother whacked for me two Friday’s ago.   He got poison ivy so bad he went on prednisone.  I got it, but only the really annoying itchy stuff that lasts for 6 weeks.  I’m on week 2 and in another week or so, I won’t be that bothered by it.   It looks hideous.  To be fair, there was so much in the back of the yard, we didn’t see any poison ivy.  I had even gone through and pulled poison ivy (plastic shopping bag to pull and plastic shopping bag to place) that I could see.  I seemed to have missed some.   Anyway, I need to get rid of the brush now.  I think I’m also looking forward to the end of yardwork.  It hasn’t been all flowers and pretty this year.  It’s been hard work and re-weeding over and over and over again.   I know.  I’m whining.  Pathetic, isn’t it?   At least I’m outside in the fresh air.  That makes me happy.

So, to send you on your way to a wonderful summer weekend, here is my soundtrack.  Here are the Supremes and “Stop in the Name of Love”

Have a wonderful weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Another glorious summer Friday. Happy Friday!!!

  1. margene says:

    I remember that video like it was yesterday. Great fun to watch again. With the heat index in your neighborhood you should be hiding in a cool, comfy place! Don’t work too hard, stay away from the poison ivy, and stay cool!! TGIFFFF!!!!

  2. Cookie says:

    I hope summer ends quickly for you. All this heat isn’t good for anyone. Nor is all that weeding. ;^)

    xo

  3. Emiko says:

    Yikes it sounds so hot over there in Middle Earth. It’s hot here, but tolerable. I’m actually looking forward to the clouds and possible rain this weekend as it hasn’t rained in a few weeks.

    My tomatoes a lovin it though 🙂

    Happy Friday!

  4. heideho says:

    Happy Friday to you too Love! Hope you don’t perspire too profusely this weekend. Drink lots and stay hydrated.

  5. Nora says:

    Sweating here, too.

    My excuse for not weeding is a wasp’s nest in one of our bushes.

    xo

  6. sophanne says:

    Hot here too-
    happy summer friday-
    I think it’s kind of nice when there’s nothing too serious that a little whining won’t fix!

  7. Annie says:

    Same type of summer here too! If I’m not working, I am weeding/mowing with the rider or with the scythe. Ready for fall I am!

    Also, HI!

  8. Joy says:

    Little Rock—whatsamatta, it’s not hot enough here for you???

    Love the sweating bit – I can imagine that coming from my late MIL as well.

    Think one of the problems with poison ivy is that the birds love the seeds, which spreads them all over the place. We mostly spot-spray the darned stuff – ugh!

    Have a great weekend.

  9. marianne says:

    So.Weary.Of.The.Heat. I’m with you. So sorry about the poison ivy… I’m wondering about that though.. perhaps the proximity of the ivy to other weeds, oils getting on foliage not poison ivy? pesky stuff anyway.
    egads, the humidity.. the other morning, early, the temp was 75F with 90% humidity, yeah, another glorious summer day in middle earth just south and west of you ;^) xoxoxox
    Hope you’re staying cool this weekend!

  10. marianne says:

    ps oh, and about that drink? I say somewhere more north, or mountains in Colorado?

Leave a Reply

