Hot Time in The Summer Friday

Happy Friday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It’s finally Friday. Yay!!!

I’m in a bitchy mood.  It’s still hot.  I go out for 5 minutes and I’m drenched in sweat.  What kind of summer is this??????  Oh.  Right.  It’s summer.  Never mind.

So, until the mega-heat breaks, I’m sorta stuck inside.   I did stop at Home Depot yesterday and spent way more money than I intended.  Yet, it needed to be done.  I needed a sprayer for the Brush Round-up I need for the poison ivy in the back.  I do not intend to ask my brother to clear brush again after the poor baby got such a bad case of poison ivy.  I so wish I could get rid of it without chemicals, but this has been a fight from the beginning and I’m caving.  I have a fish pond in my back yard.  I abhor using chemicals because of the fish and the puppers, but what do you do?  Thankfully, the poison ivy is on the opposite side of the yard of the pond.  I’m planning on spraying the Round-Up in the intense heat so that by the time we can spend a decent amount of time outside, it might be a bit dissipated.  I also got the joint compound and tape for the bathroom, so that I can fix it and paint.  There are four more paint chips.  I will show you when I find the stupid camera.  It’s not really its fault.  I misplaced it and keep forgetting to look for it.  So, I guess it’s my fault.  Sometimes living alone sucks, people.  I try to blame the animals, but they love me and are totally uncooperative.

I also got a Japanese beetle trap.  I would take a picture of the lace-like leaves from my Linden tree, but try to picture it in your mind since the camera thing is still unresolved.  My Linden is being systematically stripped by the little bastards, so I got a trap.  I’ll let you know if it works at all.

Then, I got deck stain and disposable gloves.  I’m a freak.  I admit it.  I am frightened by the chemicals in the world, so I wear disposable gloves whenever I touch these icks.  So much can be absorbed into our bodies by our skin and so many chemicals are completely untested for long term effects.  Oops.  That soapbox pops out all the time when I’m talking about chemicals and our FDA.  My apologies.  I’m a radical when it comes to anything that can harm our world.  We won’t even go into the obvious, like guns.

OM.  I just re-read my post.  Please don’t judge me harshly.  Oh, hell.  Go ahead.  I don’t mind.  I would!  I am a stream of consciousness writer.  I know I said I was a thinking writer, but sometimes there is little thinking that goes into it, and today is a perfect example.

Anyway, I’m gonna go now, since I have no real conclusion, or point.  Here is my soundtrack for the day.  An absolutely fabulous version of “Heat Wave” by Joan Osborne.  Damn.  This is good.

Have a wonderful summer weekend!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hot Time in The Summer Friday

  1. margene says:

    If I could send you some of our cool I would. Hopefully it will make it’s way to your neck of the woods. It’s been heavenly here, but the heat will return. Take care of yourself. Wearing gloves to stain is an excellent idea and one of the nose covers isn’t a bad idea either!

  2. Emiko says:

    It’s gonna be a hot one here too (minus the humidity you’ve got there though). Hot hot hot! I wish I could justify buying an air-conditioner, but they’re like $400 bucks! So, until global warming gets worse (I choose to be optimistic and hope that it won’t), I’m not going to get one and just go w/ the old school fan 🙂

    I hate having to use chemicals too, but sometimes there are some things I have to use here and there. Although w/ Frank around, I do try to limit the use of anything harsh around the home. It makes me more conscious about what I buy.

    Anyway, here’s to a great weekend for both of us 🙂 Headed to my first Renaissance Faire and Bear’s b-day is Monday and I got some fun plans to surprise him – I think I get more excited about others’ birthdays than my own LOL

  3. heideho says:

    Happy Friday! Wait until it cools down before staining your deck. I did ours last summer when it was really hot and the stain dried on the surface instead of soaking into the wood. Now it’s all peeling up and the decks need to be scraped and stained again (not happening for awhile). Chemicals… sigh. They are a double-edged sword. Here’s an organic {{hug}} for you.

  4. sophanne says:

    If your beetle traps are like my beetle traps, you will be happy.

    Are you going to stain the deck (almost wrote dick) in this heat?

    Please don’t. It can wait.

  5. joyknits says:

    At least it sounds like next week is supposed to be a tad better – imagine actually looking forward to 80’s 😉 Sometimes chemicals are the only way to go – especially when you’re sensitive to poison ivy! We’re just careful to spray when it’s not windy.

    Have a good weekend! Skritches to G & EM.

  6. Cookie says:

    Don’t feel too badly about using the RoundUp, sweetie. There are much worse products you could be using. Ask me how I know this. ;^)

    Blame the cat for the missing camera. I’m sure she knows where it is. Cats usually do.

    xo

  7. marianne says:

    I’m with you all the way re: those chemicals! and yet I did break down and spray the bits of poison ivy, spot sprayed and it worked. so until next spring when it rears its oily leaves again… sigh.
    too hot to be staining that deck, agreeing with Heideho, it can wait. stay in where it’s cool, don’t fret the other stuff… think Margene has enough cool to send.. to cover both states? :^)
    xoxox

Leave a Reply

