I need the rest

That’s why I am going back to work this morning. I have been busy all weekend. I have also begun the taping work in the bathroom. This is in preparation for the repainting and matting of the eight enormous elephants expertly eating Easter eggs print. No luck finding the camera just yet, but I will. That, and cutting the grass, are on my work list this evening.

Signs of autumn.  Although temps were hideous last week, I have begun noticing signs of the autumnal change.   Birds are beginning to work on flock formations.  Not to worry.  They have a long way to go from what I’ve seen.  The sun is setting earlier and is much later to rise.   The water cools more quickly.  Last week it was so hot, it was awful, but even 5 or 10 degrees of cooling and the water cools more rapidly.  The dog isn’t shedding nearly as much as he has all summer long.  No winter coat yet, but it will start coming in by late September.

There is one good thing about being super busy.  I sleep like the dead.  All I have to do is turn off the light and that’s it.  I have always taken at least a half hour to calm down for sleep.  I’m taking  my quickness sleeping as a good thing.

There is a fly in my ointment, though.  My sweet Peanut is moving out of town.  I’m excited for her.  Really excited.  But, I like having her here with us.   This move will be good for her on so many counts.  Besides, she’s got to do it while she’s young.  For some reason our roots get way deep when we get older, making it harder than hell to dig them out.  It will also give me a southern place to visit.

Here is my soundtrack for today.  “Sweet Soul Music” by Arthur Conley.   Enjoy.  And, yes, I’m still on a soul kick;-D

Have a good one!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I need the rest

  1. Diane says:

    I know! I can’t seem to find two minutes to myself. I’ve been setting my alarm earlier and earlier and may have to stop going to bed at all if things don’t improve soon.

    We have the A/C off and the house open for the first time in donkey years. Feels marvelous.

  2. margene says:

    The air has changed and you can see fall encroaching daily. The sun is no longer in my eyes as I drive to work each day. It’s still hiding behind my mountain. Sending good wishes to your Peanut as she spreads her wings.

  3. Rachel says:

    I didn’t realize it, but yes, the water is cooler. I couldn’t get it cold enough last week for anything, but I could get it to boil much faster than normal. Think of all the lovely trips you will take to see Peanut!

  4. Cookie says:

    The sleeping is the upside to crazy busy, I swear. Not only do I get to sleep easier but I seem to sleep longer without waking up. Such a nice change.

    The seasons are changing. There were Canada Geese doing fly overs the other day. Sort of early for them, but I’ll take it. I think we all need this summer to end.

    Your Peanut will do well. She’s your girl. Hello!

    xo

  5. marianne says:

    ok, I’m just trying to figure out the water thing, what water? outdoor water for The Grover Boy? for the birds? water out of the tap? just call me dense. and yes, look it up in the dictionary, I’m #2.
    Yes, there are leaves giving up the ghost and falling. although I’m sure that has more to do with the brutal temps of last week. and the weeks before that.
    but I feel it too, the change in the quality of light, certain scents.. it’s coming. (YAY!)
    there’s all kinds of goodness from deep sound sleeps.
    Yes, your Peanut will do well, as Cookie wrote, she’s your girl too. I SO get it about the roots. XOXOX

  6. joyknits says:

    Just think, maybe the need to cut grass will slow down as well 🙂 I did some of that last night too. So far I haven’t notice any slowing of the shedding here tho.

    Best wished to your Peanut – it’s not easy when they fly, but I’m sure she’ll stay in touch (((((Cindy)))))

  7. Sophanne says:

    Why yes, everything you mentioned about the coming season have been talked about here. As well as big dark wooly worms. I think I’ll go stock up for the winter tomorrow!

  8. heideho says:

    Glad you’re sleeping better, sorry it’s taking you being worn out to get there though.

    Peanut will do fabulous and you will go visit her and have fun.

    Hugs to you!

Leave a Reply

