WHAT DAY IS THIS?????????????????????????????????????????

You bet your ass. It’s Friday. It took a month to get here, but it is finally Friday. OMG. The stress and anxiety and sheer drama of  my work environment is exhausting. I’m not complaining. There has just been more drama than usual this past month.  Last week our building was hit by lightning. Twice. It went through our network. Thankfully, it wasn’t in the wiring, but the network. We lost 3 of 5 computers, a CAD printer/scanner, security system and the list keeps growing. What got me was that nobody could do anything until I got to work on Monday. I worry all the time about losing my job and nobody knows what to do in an emergency.  Yes.  I’m grateful.  And because of the additional stress I have been seeking out my ultimate comfort food.  I will admit this to you since we’re close.   It’s saltine crackers with butter/Smart Balance spread.  It took me quite a bit of searching through those mental cobwebs to realize that Mom used to have saltine crackers with butter or peanut butter as our after-school snack.  The mind and the emotional memory are amazing, aren’t they?

I admitted to our Joy that I have found my camera.  I just haven’t used it.   I have a wad of vest back to show you and a red scarf project scarf to show you, but still haven’t taken the pix.  I will this weekend.  I promise.

BTW, you are all too kind to me.  I know boring and I’m quite capable of being boring.  I bore myself to tears quite often.  Of course, then I get the giggles because I’m so dull, but I can be very boring.

We are quickly running out of summer.  I’m not nagging.  I’m reminding.  I just don’t want you all to get to late fall and realize you missed a weekend or two because you weren’t paying attention.  Or, is it just me that does that?   Of course it is me, not you.  You are wayyyy too smart for that.

So, to send you on your way to a wonderful late summer weekend, here are BB King, Albert King and Stevie Ray Vaughn with “The Sky is Crying”.   Enjoy!!!!

Have a great one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to WHAT DAY IS THIS?????????????????????????????????????????

  1. margene says:

    After having one day off (and heading into two more) I worry about the mess I’ll be heading back to next Tuesday. It’s good to feel wanted, but people can be SO helpless! Stevie is one of my faves!! Thanks for that. Happy weekend, dear one! Enjoy the last days of summer.

  2. marianne says:

    Sorry to hear about the work drama, it can become so tedious, but yep, it’s good to be needed.
    I remember in my kindergarten class churning butter and then eating it on saltines :^) and yes, good with the peanut butter.. but last Winter turned Gracie on to saltines and grape jam (not jelly, Jam) and somehow convinced her it was our special secret little treat. :^D
    Here’s to a fabulous weekend for you and all!
    xox
    thanks for the tune, I miss Stevie.

  3. Emiko says:

    I like crackers with peanut butter – yum! It’s good to be wanted at work, for sure 🙂 My workplace has a lot of drama going on as well, but nothing like your place with all the lightning strikes, holy moly! Twice even!

    Soooooo freaking glad it’s Friday – I need these two days off! Here’s to a great weekend for all of us 🙂

  4. Kristi says:

    I only ever had saltines with butter (or sometimes peanut butter) at my maternal grandmother’s house. It was always such a treat. And here I had totally forgotten about it! Thanks for the reminder of a fun memory!

    Have a good weekend!

  5. Cookie says:

    Isn’t it amazing what foods offer us comfort? I still like boring over exciting. We’re having a mini-heatwave and I am READY for fall. /sigh

    xo

  6. Rachel says:

    I forgot all about butter and saltines! That stinks about the building, but at least I hope they realize how much they need you.

  7. sophanne says:

    When she didn’t buy bread we’d have saltine peanut butter and jelly “sandwiches.” I have a different saltine vibe. I do remember a neighbor giving us saltines with butter to go with chili and I thought they were the best thing in the world.

  8. joyknits says:

    Perhaps a cosmic reminder of how much they need you is a Good Thing 😉 Losing a CAD scanner/printer – an owie I’m sure. Given the heat, I’m not sure we’ll miss this summer very much when it’s gone. Have a great weekend!

  9. heideho says:

    I love saltines too! Too bizarre about the lightening strikes. Does your building have surge protectors for their electronics? Still waiting on pins and needles to see the vest and scarf… no pressure or anything though ;)!

Leave a Reply

