Humpty Day

For some reason, Hump Day sounds a tad obscene. It might just be me. Or, it might not. To avoid offending anyone out there, I have adopted Humpty Day. That way, unsuspecting children will not hear a word that means nothing to them, but could be misconstrued. Right?

So, on the knitting front?  Not so much this week.  The weather turned cooler (I’ve been afraid to type that because it might go away if it thinks I noticed), so there is much yard work to be done.   I weeded and trimmed the front yard on Monday night and last night I weeded the other side of the front yard.   I just seem to do the same things over and over and over this year, but, soon, there will be leaves to rake and battening down of hatches in time for the cold winter winds to blow.   OK.  The cold winter winds won’t be blowing here in Middle Earth until mid-November, but still, when someone is as well organized as I am and has the attention span of a Stinky McFartbutt, planning ahead is essential.  I’m currently planning.  I can plan for years without actually accomplishing a thing, so my best plan is to just suck it up and do it.  After last year’s gardening/lawn fiasco I have decided that this fall my yard will look good.  Not fabulous, but good.  Trim and neat.  This is the front yard I’m talking about.  The back is a work in progress and has been for for  for forever.

Hey.  This week has suddenly gotten busy.  Of course, part of the busyness is a dear friend and church member died last week from ALS.  Watching him go slowly like that was so hard, but he put up a heck of a fight and I will miss him.  We used to sit in Session meetings (you’re supposed to be very thoughtful) looking at each other and making faces and bursting  into giggles.  I’ll keep that memory of him forever and that is my gift.   I will also see my family for the first time in 3 weeks.   I miss them and that is a very good thing.   I wondered if we would miss each other since we have seen other so much since Mom died and I know I have missed them.  I’ll just hope they’ve missed me;-P

Have a wonderful Humpty Day.  We’re on the downhill side of the week and that is always a good thing.  I leave you with a song that has been on my mind since I talked about my cold toes in August……”Popsicle Toes” by Michael Franks.

Have a good one~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Humpty Day

  1. margene says:

    Of course you were missed. We miss you and so does your family.
    On the way to work this morning I felt the chill in the air and thought it might be time to get the sweaters ready for fall evenings. My favorite Popsicle Toes is by Diana Krall. This version is quite nice, too. What a fun song.

  2. Emiko says:

    It’s been too hot to knit, but now that Fall is around the corner, I need to warm up the knitting needles. I think I need to CO for another project as I’m feeling a little uninspired with the other because that’s all I’ve been (sloooowly) working on. Maybe another project will get me in the mood and get some fall knittin going.

    Have a Happy Humpty day – don’t fall off the wall, har har.

  3. Cookie says:

    Maybe it’s because I’m in a mood, but I sort of like the idea of Hump Day. ;^)

    It really is time to start planning for fall and winter, isn’t it? Thank goodness it’s too hot to do anything other than plan.

    xo

  4. joyknits says:

    Don’t overdo trying to do too much yard at once! All that rain, it’s been ganging up on us.

    Sorry about your friend! We have Session meetings like that too – subject to fits of giggles :o)

  5. I’ve been noticing a crispness to the air and it is taking longer to reach the high and cooling over quicker and more so in the evenings. Though the daytime highs are forecasted for the mid-90’s for the next 4 days here. I’ll hope it dips south and misses middle earth!

  6. Nora says:

    So very sorry about your friend, Cindy.

    xo

  7. marianne says:

    So sorry about your friend, the gift of shared giggles is up there in the top two, eh? Coming in right after the shared love.
    Hump day… I always picture dogs. heh.
    The past couple of days been glorious! I knocked out both yards yesterday!!! and even though the temps will climb back up into the 90s.. it shouldn’t be dreadful or brutal like it had been.
    I hear you on the planning. and the attention span. and and and.
    XOXOX

Leave a Reply

