Happy Labor Day one and all!!

I would amend the title to read “for US readers”, but that’s all I have so it would be a waste. I’m late this morning. I slept until 6:45 a.m. That’s an abomination in my world, but it seems it was needed. I was so tired last night. It’s been a full and wonderful weekend, so this is the day reality sets back in. I need to cut the grass because there is a possibility of rain this week. If I don’t cut it, it will rain. That’s a guarantee. Not that I’m superstitious or anything

We have had Chamber of Commerce weather this weekend.   The highs have been in the 80’s and the lows in the 60’s.  The sun has shone and the sky is so blue is could break your heart.   For me, this weekend has helped make up for an abysmal summer.

I went out with my BSIL on Friday for “lunch”.   We met my Peanut at an outdoor cafe and enjoyed a lovely meal.  After that, we reconnoitered.  That’s code for going to the Lakehouse Restaurant on Creve Coeur Lake.  A glorious day and the lake was a little choppy and the landscape was verdant and lush.   We enjoyed a couple of drinks and then went to a yarn store.   Well, I caved just a bit.  I so didn’t need any yarn, but I did want an orange hat for walking the dog this winter.  I did get the orange.  I consider that a huge victory.

But, then, I saw this. There was a sample made up (I hate when they do that), so I could see how gorgeous the sock would be.

It’s Zino 07 in the Forest colorway.  Then, finally, I found this Targhee top roving that I found enchanting.  I haven’t spun Targhee, yet.

Pretty, isn’t it?

Well, since I’m late I’ll send you on your way with Elton John and “Take Me to the Pilot” from 1971.

Have a great day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Labor Day one and all!!

  1. sophanne says:

    verdant- yes oh yes.

    It’s been gorgeous here as well.

    Liza Jane’s eyes are full of possibilities.

    And the work week is a day shorter.

    hooray.

  2. heide says:

    Happy Labor Day! Holy crap that green sock yarn is da bomb! Can’t wait to see what the roving looks like spun up. Cheers!

  3. marianne says:

    holy moly that sock yarn is GORgeous!!! and yes! from Thursday until today.. perfect weather! (it’s hot today, not AS hot, but still… Very Warm)
    Sounds like a great day, the lys around here don’t carry roving. bah!
    My very first fibre to spin was targhee :^) that bit you have sure is pretty!
    xox

  4. Joy says:

    Absolutely C of C weather – don’t you wish we could keep it? Looks like you’ve got your work cut out for you – socks, a hat, and spinning. Can’t wait to see what they grow up to be 😉

  5. margene says:

    It was an wonderful Labor Day weekend, but very cool and you could say, comfortable. We had a nip of frost in the garden. ALREADY! Anyway, don’t beat yourself up for sleeping in once in awhile. I did the same on this lovely holiday weekend. We deserve it once in awhile. Your yarn looks fun and the socks will keep you cozy this winter. Targhee is springy, sproingy stuff to spin. It will take a little practice, but it’s fun once you have the hang of it. Spin it loose and ply it tight, or spin it tight and ply it loose. It’s a very warm fiber, too. Have fun!

  6. Emiko says:

    Kitty let me sleep in a little on Labor Day too – how kind eh? 🙂

    You got some pretties at the yarn shop. I love that sock yarn – soo so gorgeous! Can’t wait to see how that turns out.

    It’s starting to feel a little like fall around here. It’s making me want to pick up the needles again, so that’s a good sign!

  7. Beth in StC says:

    Ooh, I think I know where you went this weekend; that Targhee looks really familiar. We hit Main Street on Monday for lunch and a little shopping. I picked up two bundles of Mountain Colors roving (one Targhee and one Blue Faced Leicester) and talked myself into putting them both down until I spin up some of the lovely stuff I already own.

    Of course now I’m wishing I hadn’t been so virtuous. That sock yarn is pretty tempting, too. (Sorry, I’m just not an orange wearing person, although I’m sure its a lovely yarn.) I look forward to seeing how that roving turns out.

Leave a Reply

