You coulda knocked me over with a feather

Lavender?  It’s beautiful.  No question about it, but lavender won hands down. The only vote for the color I chose was mine. Now, granted, I have rare tastes. I am a color freak. I adore it. It cheers me up and makes me smile. So, this is the one I chose.
Yup. That is the eggplant color.   Of course, it has to be a bit shinier, so I will use a satin, but I adore it.  The little red dot is the crystal that I have attached to the color chip just to be sure that I love it.  Here is a better pic of the crystal on the eggplant.

It captures light.  I plan on painting the walls the eggplant and then attaching crystals in spiral shapes scattered on the walls to catch the light.  I also strung cheap plastic crystals on wire to wind around the light fixture.   I love to play with light and color.  If you think I’m insane, you’re right.  My BSIL was a bit off-put.  She told me the room was small and it would feel closed in.  I also got that from my David.   I guess I have not been able to express my true weirdness until now.  I know it’s dark and closed in, (it can be repainted if it’s awful) but I’m excited.   I will start as soon as I’m able.  Sunday, I spent the day (after church) stringing cheap plastic crystals, knitting and watching “Firefly” on DVD (it was a wonderful rainy-type day).   My Peanut is moving to NOLA in October and I need to get it watched and returned before she leaves.   I’m afraid I’m hooked.  I also am thinking that it’s a terrible shame it was canceled, but I’m glad I’m watching it.

I have been knitting as I said.  I’m finishing my BSIL’s last-year Christmas gift.  It is a cashmere/lambswool scarf with beads.  I’m pleased with it and ready to finish it and block it and get it the heck outta the house.  Excuse me.  I’m just a little tired of looking at it and I know my BSIL could use it this winter.

My soundtrack for this day?   Jimi Hendrix and “Wild Thing”.  Jimi died on September 18, 1970.   And, yes, I’m floored.  It really doesn’t seem that long ago.

Have a great one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to You coulda knocked me over with a feather

  1. sophanne says:

    cashmere and lambswool. Yum.

    I think part of the voting might have had to do with the fact that we were distracted by all of the possibilities together and didn’t really see them alone with the pring.

    I love the eggplant and change my vote

  2. Diane says:

    I didn’t vote before, but I’m voting now for the crystals and the spirals, etc.

    Last time we “did” the house we put a dark reddish/brown wallpaper in the bedroom despite the bedroom already being dark. It looks marvelous and the room feels very comforting to be in now. I bet you’ll love your eggplant bathroom.

  3. margene says:

    My favorite time of day is morning, before the sun comes up and the ski is filled with stars. Your room will have that feel. I completely understand!! It’s going to be beautiful!! I heard Jimi yesterday. I love his music…always did.

  4. Wendy says:

    Glad you decided to go with a bold color! My living room is Terracotta and you could call it orange…

    I’m with you and a huge Firefly/Serenity fan! I’ve met Nathan twice, but it’s really rather embarrassing to be a fangirl, it turns out.

    Anyway, enjoy the series. It’s up on Netflix if you have that and you can watch it instantly!

  5. heideho says:

    I love the eggplant now that it looks eggplant and not black. I think the lighter color swatches next to it made it kind of dissappear in the pictures. The crystals are brilliant and lighting can make a big difference in any room. Nathan Fillion rocks!

  6. Emiko says:

    I’ll have to agree w/ Heidi above that I thought the eggplant looked really really dark in the first photo on poll day. The swatch in this photo is a little lighter and it is a very beautiful color!

    Your bathroom is going to be the envy of town 🙂 The swirly crystals are going to be so fun! No one’s ever gonna wanna come out once the remodel is complete LOL

  7. Cookie says:

    Wonderful color choice! I think a lot of people are afraid of color. Or perhaps afraid of deep rich colors in rooms. Then again, these same people have white ceilings, so we should not worry about what they think.

    xo

  8. marianne says:

    The aubergine is going to be mahvelous, dahling! No kidding, like I said before, Stunning! I take it you have a window in your bathroom? to let light in? That was the main problem I had with our dark walls (actually I think ours were way darker than what you have planned) and Someone didn’t like the blinds open letting light (heaven forbid) in.
    Gorgeous colour combos between the aubergine and poster and mat! and LOVE the crystal spirals you’re planning!!!!!
    Firefly.. have never watched it (!?!) but just the other night on Big Bang Sheldon was talking about it and one of his lines was that the series was going to continue for ‘years to come’. :^)
    Jimi. sigh. I know what you mean. How have all those years flown by so quickly? they have. even though my firstborn arrived in ’72… time can be the strangest.
    XOXOX

  9. yoel says:

    Love the purple eggplant! As another dark-hued-walls-owner, I say go for it!

Leave a Reply

