Happy Friday. It’s a new world!

It’s Friday again. This time it’s the last scheduled Friday off for quite a while. Monday I start the new job. I’m looking forward to it after the stress of leaving my other job. Thursday was wonderful and sad. What a lovely group of people I worked with and for. My first boss, Roy, is frail and elderly now, but I brought him a box of Bissinger’s chocolates and a card for boss’ day (today). He was emotional which made me emotional. I gave gifts to all but one co-worker. Not because I don’t like him, but because I have only worked with him for two years.  I was given a gorgeous watch and beautiful flowers.

I’m only showing the Amazon watch pic because my pictures were hideous.  Srsly.   That, plus lunch out twice this week and then, to top it all off, a party for my last day.   I was emotional and had a bad case of the huggies.   I have worked with these guys for 30 years.  We have grown up together and we have a long history together.  In other words, I love these guys.  I wept, off and on, for 3 hours.  It was tough, but so wonderful.  What a gift to be given.  What gifts to be given.

So, now.  Down to earth.  I have to spend this weekend working on my yard and wardrobe.   I need clothes for the workweek.  I’m used to wearing jeans the last day of the week.  I have no idea what is expected at the new work place.  I just know that it’s 5 minutes from my house.  That is the main reason I’m changing jobs.   I have officially gained 6 hours that I spent driving.

I have been knitting.    Here is  a really bad picture of my sock.  Remember the Plymouth sock yarn in Forest that I fell in love with?   Here it is.  I am on the foot of the first sock, so I’ve a bit to go

I do love this sock.  I’m knitting it while at the computer, so it’s not happening as fast as I’d like.  And, of course, the picture stinks.

I leave you to prepare for your weekend.  Here is Canned Heat with my favorite song by this band “Let’s Work Together”.

Have a great weekend all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Happy Friday. It’s a new world!

  1. margene says:

    The day sounds like it was bittersweet, but you’re now stepping into your future and I hope it’s a wonderful adventure. How wonderful to work so close to home! It’s the number one reason I love my job. 😉

  2. heideho says:

    I’m sure you’ll remain friends with and keep in touch with your work family. Saying goodbye after all this time would be heart-wrenching. You’ll do great at your new job though. I hope you relax and spend time doing something just for yourself this weekend. Hugs to you and scritches to Esau Marie and Grover.

    ps, I’ve stolen some of your exclamation points!

  3. marianne says:

    What a week! and ‘oh my heavens’, that watch? GORgeous! absolutely, stunningly Lovely (and beyond)! I don’t wear watches but that one I’d give more consideration for sure. Sweet! and the flowers are beauties, as is your sock.
    Changes. Good time of year for them :^)
    saving six hours of commute? in a week? a month? WoW! that’s a BIG plus!
    Have fun with that yard work and wardrobe business this weekend (snort).. hey, you can make it a fun thing ;^)
    Happy Weekend, Sweetheart! xox

  4. Emiko says:

    wow, I had no idea that you were with your previous place of employment for so long – I can see how hard it would be to say goodbye to everyone. What a beautiful watch you received too. Goodbyes aren’t fun, but you have a lot ahead of you And that 5 mins away from home is a very, very nice thing (my commute is the same as what yours will be) 🙂

    Enjoy your weekend and get nice and rested for your first day on the new job. 🙂

  5. Kristi says:

    Oh man what I miss when I don’t read blogs! I hope the new job is fantastic and I’m sure gaining those extra 6 hours will be wonderful! Have a great weekend!

  6. Cookie says:

    I’m so glad it was a good week for you. I hope you’re making today count! What are you going to do with those 6 hours?

    xo

  7. Sophanne says:

    6 damn hours! Woo hoo!

Leave a Reply

