The adventure begins

This morning I start my new job. I’m excited, but feeling a little bit of trepidation. I spoke with my benefactor on Friday evening and she wanted to warn me of some things. Like, the work is way behind. That just spells one thing to me and it’s overtime. I’m salaried so that’s not gonna help, but it also just means I’ll be training in a “catch-up” situation. Part of me is tickled to death. I love working under pressure. I’m just not used to working that many hours anymore.   Still, it is a new challenge and I needed that as well as more job security.

So, this week the blogging may be just a bit whopperjawed.   The spirit is very willing, but the flesh may be a bit tired.

On the knitting front, I finished the first of the Leafy mitts, but with my photographic skill and pure raw talent couldn’t get a picture worth keeping (notice the lame attempt at redirecting your attention from the lack of a knitting picture).   Yesterday was even a sunny day.  But, you know how I spent my Saturday and then, Sunday mornings?  Working my butt off in the yard.   I have mentioned before how bad it had gotten and now, it looks almost like someone lives here.   I am pleased and hopeful to get the rest in shape before spring.  As long as it isn’t sleeting, snowing or bitter cold, I can do yard work here in Middle Earth.  Seems a bit weird, but it is true.   And, I really couldn’t see a difference in the size of my butt, darnit.

On Saturday afternoon I went over to BSIL, BB and Peanut’s house for a farewell dinner for my Peanut.  I’m so excited for her.  Her move to NOLA is a thrilling adventure.  I’ll miss her, of course, but it will be worth it for her.   I think the holidays in winkyworld are gonna get strange, too.   I’m not sure who will be here when and it doesn’t matter because we can celebrate Thanksgiving 3 or 4 times if necessary and Christmas however many times needed.  I just don’t care that much anymore.   Just seeing my girls and being with family(blood and water) are all that matter to me anymore.

Then, on Sunday, after my yardwork, I went to a P*mpered Ch*f party with my friend “F”.   We had a good old time and ate yummy stuff and bought some stuff.   It was just nice.   I haven’t done much with her in a while because she has a growing boy and growing boys and/or girls are a bit time consuming, or so I’ve heard.

So, I stayed busy and fairly productive all weekend.   Now, I need to get ready for the new job.   Here’s my soundtrack for the day, the Doors and my all-time favorite song of theirs commonly known as “Whiskey Bar”.

Have a great one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The adventure begins

  1. margene says:

    If only we could meet at a “whiskey bar” after our long days. I hoe they don’t take advantage of you. Take care of yourself and let them know you’re human and can only take so much. lol
    I hope it’s a fun job with busy but enjoyable work. I’ll be thinking of you!

  2. heideho says:

    You’re going to knock ’em dead at your new job and they’ll wonder how they ever stayed afloat without you. Caffeinated hugs your way to keep you fortified.

  3. marianne says:

    Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! and what Margene and Heideho wrote!
    Whopperjawed works for me :^)
    You and I were yard work sistas this past weekend… only I didn’t have the dinner or party. just the work. oh wah, :^)
    Hugs!!! xox

    • knitwonpurltoo says:

      Thanks darlin’!!!! I’ll bet you got more done that me;-P Hugs back at ya!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      Comment: Wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeee! and what Margene and Heideho wrote! Whopperjawed works for me :^) You and I were yard work sistas this past weekend… only I didn’t have the dinner or party. just the work. oh wah, :^) Hugs!!! xox

  4. Rachel says:

    Whopperjawed is my new favorite word. I take all my knitting pictures in macro mode (it has the little tulip icon) and either in natural light or under the oven hood, which has daylight bulbs in it. That’s my way of saying knitting didn’t happen if there aren’t pictures! 🙂

    Enjoy your first day! Make new friends!

  5. Emiko says:

    Sounds like your new job will keep you busy but that’s a good thing these days, so I hope your transition to the new job is a smooth one.

    I actually progressed quite a bit on my Clapotis this weekend and had a semi-freakout moment when I weighed the yarn left and thought I miscalculated and wouldn’t have enough to finish, but it looks like I should be ok 🙂 I’m a little over halfway there, so there’s progress!

    happy Monday and I hope your first day went well!

  6. Cookie says:

    I hope today is going well. I’m wondering if you’ll be working those 6 hours you thought you had gained. ;^)

  7. Kristi says:

    Sounds like a very busy weekend and a tiring week to come. Wishing you a smooth transition into the new job and we’ll be here whenever you find the energy!

  8. joyknits says:

    Hope the new job is fantastic – if they’ve got any sense at all, they’ll be thrilled you’re there. Hugs and best wishes!

Leave a Reply

