I do still knit!!

Here is the left Leafy mitt on my left hand.
And, here is the right hand.

They are alike.   I have photography issues and  the perspective on these two shots is wonky.   Still.  I love these mitts.   I even have enough yarn to knit another pair.

I hope everyone had a lovely weekend.  This week looks to be a bit stressful.  Or, at least, stressfuller than usual.   I’m just planning on going with the flow.

Do you have huge plans for the upcoming holiday?   I don’t.  I’m going to my BB’s and BSIL’s house.  We are going to have a “one short” Thanksgiving.  Our Peanut is not able to come home, so we will have our Lil Bit only this year.  It’s okay, but  we will miss our Peanut terribly.  And, I think, our Lil Bit will miss her the most!  My duties are to bring an appetizer, Swedish meatballs, and a veggie, Italian peas, and wine.  I’m set.   All I’m lacking is the cooking and it’s just a tad too early to do that.

The big boy, Grover, has come to a point of happiness and I’m not sure how he got there.   I think part of it is that he isn’t stuck in the house for 9 or 10 hours at a time with no breaks.   I also think he is finally at a point of not mourning my Mom.   When Mom died, he no longer played with his stuffed squeaky toys.   He would carry them around, but not pounce on them and bounce around.   This weekend, he started playing again.   He throws his squeaky toy and pounces on it (the floor just shakes).   It’s so dear to watch.  I’m grateful.   It’s been 18 months since Mom died.  That’s a loyal friend and it is interesting that dogs mourn much like we do.

So, I’m a bit dull.  We had a spaghetti dinner at church on Saturday for a fundraiser for our utility fund mission.  It was wonderful, but I worked the kitchen and I was exhausted when I got home.   There was a cakewalk and a silent service auction and it was a huge success.  I was so happy because it was also a fun time.   Being a do-gooder is rewarding, but there is a seriousness about it that wears you down.   Having a fun time (dinner included!) makes being a do-gooder more fun and it also builds a stronger community.

So, since I’m a bit dull (and repetitive), I will leave you with my soundtrack of the day.   Here are the Stones and a favorite of mine.   “Let’s Spend the Night Together”.

Have a good one!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I do still knit!!

  1. margene says:

    Our little puppies to grieve in much the same way. I’ve seen it several times. It’s been good for him to have you there and visa versa. It feels good to give, but don’t empty your reserves. You can only give when you’re own reserves are full. I’m looking forward to having 4 days off. Now I need to get through the first three! 😉
    LOVE the mitts. Such a pretty color. I hope you enjoy wearing them as much as I love wearing mine.

  2. heideho says:

    I think the grief of animals is more pure than the grief of people because the love they feel is unconditional. People often look back and think about what they could have done differently, ponder things unsaid (or said in anger) and wish they could change the past. Animals don’t do that, they just miss their friends. I’m glad that Grover has started playing again. He truly is a wonderful woofer and I’m even more grateful that he’s a part, a big part, of your life. The leaf mitts are wonderful! They require thought and concentration when knitting, and are therefore beyond my abilities. I hope that Peanut finds a loving place to spend her Thanksgiving as well. Being away from such a loving family will be hard for her too. Maybe you can all have a group phone call, then plan on getting together for pumpkin pie at a later time. Hugs to you!

  3. Diane says:

    Cute mitts, you done good, you do-gooder you!

    So glad to hear Grover is happy-go-lucky these days, he’s such a big part of your life, it has to make you happy too.

    Enjoy your Thanksgiving, even if it won’t be “the same” without your Peanut.

  4. Cookie says:

    Very cute mitts!

    I’m so glad that your boy is starting to come out of his mourning. It’s time he starts to enjoy himself more.

  5. Kristi says:

    Those are fun mitts! I really need some more fingerless mitts and maybe even a pair of gauntlets!

  6. yoel says:

    Great mitts!

    What a sweet good doggy Grover is! I think animals probably understand death better than humans. We’ve managed to hide it away.

  7. sophanne says:

    Hi friend- I love those lovely leafy mitts. We’re headed up the road an hour or so to my sister’s house. The last time we visited she and her husband high fived each other when we left so it’s hard to know what the day will bring. I’ve got my dog, my Mr. Sophanne, my blogfriends and I know there is still more ice cream to eat, so I believe that no matter what, life is good. Good tidings to you and hooray for a day off.

  8. Emiko says:

    I knit those mitts and love them! We’re having our first major snowfall here today so I’ve been driving with them on.

    Thanksgiving will be at my sister’s house. We’ll be bringing the brined turkey, green bean casserole and cranberry zinfandel sauce. It’ll be nice to see the family and spend time with them, so I’m glad I have something to look forward to.

  9. joyknits says:

    Love the mitts! Given the difficulty of simultaneously modeling and photographing things, I think you did an awesome job ;o)

    Glad Grover is cheering up – I can just imagine him pouncing – it’s noisy enough around here when my much smaller critters start bouncing around.

    Have a great Thanksgiving!

  10. Rachel says:

    I love the mitts! Big hugs to you and your family and that big lug Grover on this holiday.

Leave a Reply

