I don’t know my arse from a teakettle……

I love love love that expression.  My Mom used to use it and it came to me when I was thinking about a class I took several years ago.  My recall about the subject is nonexistent now, so the phrase just popped into my head.  Selective recall is a gift to the aged and the aging (maybe others as well, but I’m in the aging class now).   I can recall all kinds of “facts” and stand by them even though I have no idea what I’m talking about.   Of course, I used to do that when I was younger and was complimented by a professor in college once for being a “Snow Queen.”   In the olden days “snowing” often meant b.s.ing your way through something.  I was, and I am still, quite good at it, but something strange has happened in the years since college.  I no longer really care.   It doesn’t matter that much anyway.  Few people hear what you say anyway,because so few people really listen when others speak. Listening truly is an art.

Wow!  Where did that come from?   Deep thought is not becoming to me.   Thankfully, I can’t go very long at it.  I have a picture, finally, of the pumpkin hat.   It’s another art shot

It’s warm and not quite that bright, but I like it and it’s useful and I have worn it four days in a row walking Mr. Bigboy.   I can’t tell you how much I’ve enjoyed the walks.  I never thought I would miss them like I did.  Cabin fever is not for the meek, I tell ya!

So, today’s soundtrack?  I’m in a silly mode, so here’s Veggie Tales and Silly Songs from Larry with the “Water Buffalo Song”

Have a great Monday all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I don’t know my arse from a teakettle……

  1. margene says:

    Listening is a lost art and not only do people rarely listen, they rarely, if ever, ask your opinion or how you’re doing. It’s amazing how long people can go on about their own lives. But then, I have a blog and I can write and you can read…or not. You’re very good at getting people to think, to react and pay attention, at least via your blog.

    xoxo
    -=

  2. heideho says:

    Love the pumpkin hat! I’ve not heard the Water Buffalo song in ages. I think you articulate yourself very well and the words you espouse burst with wisdom. There are several “Snow Queens” in the classes that I teach. Love that term.

  3. rebkatz says:

    I’m a terrible listener. At least I realize it (better than not!) but still not good.

    Yay pumpkin hat! Yay getting out for walkies!

  4. joyknits says:

    What Margene said, and then when they DO ask, they often don’t listen then either. Neat hat – it should be just the thing for walkies, and it sounds like we’re going to need all the warmies we can scrape together. Stay warm!

  5. Cookie says:

    Lovely hat!

    Everyone is aging, ya know. ;^)

  6. marianne says:

    You’ve given me good giggles this morning (IT’s a SNOWDAY!)
    love the quote, also there’s ‘falling arse over teakettle’ and I’ve always been fond of that one too.
    Yep. the listening. it IS an art. and I’ve found that the ‘rules of engagement in conversation’, well, apparently they’re no longer being taught, or possibly by only a very few. sad state of affairs I think. and with that I’ll step off and away from that soap box, don’t get me started ;^)
    Stay snuggled and warm, Darlin’. xox
    Love your hat!!!!!

  7. Rachel says:

    I’m with Rebkatz. I’m a terrible listener. I have discovered that I am a much better listener if I have a stockinette sock working in my hands while I listen, but unfortunately many people find that rude.

    Deep thoughts are very becoming of you. Nice hat. 😀

Leave a Reply

