Milestones

I celebrated a milestone birthday this weekend. I wish I could say how hard it was for me and how I felt so old, but it wasn’t and I don’t. I’m grateful every day for the quality of my life. I might be maturing. Oh, gad. Really?
My brother and bestsissyinlaw gave me a low-key party. It was them and my “D and J”. It was perfect. I cannot tell you how much I love these people. OK. It would have been perfecter if my Peanut and Lil Bits could have been there, but they couldn’t.


Now, how I spent my actual birthday. This is how I know I’ve matured. I went to church. Came home. Ate lunch and went to visit my old boss who had a stroke two weeks ago and is in rehab. Ten years ago I wouldn’t have done that because my birthday was so very important. Now, I’m aware that I am blessed and understand the need to share my life with those I care about. My old boss and I have know each other since I was 22 and he 38. We’ve been through so many life experiences that he is water family.  It was one of the hardest things I’ve done since I lost my Mom.   Yet, it was so uplifting.

I was so busy I didn’t get to my spinning until Sunday evening.   I can honestly say I’m enjoying the spinning immensely.   It’s wonderful when I have the attention span of a gnat(which this time of year seems constant).

Do you love how I inserted the e-tr*de baby for your enjoyment?  I adore these ads.   I might be unwell;-D    Happy Monday all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

P.S.  I won’t be participating in the 10 on 2sday because I don’t know 10 Oscar winning movies.   I know.  I know.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Milestones

  1. margene says:

    The nice thing about growing older is we understand what’s important. Giving of yourself, even on a special day, is just your style. You are such a warm and generous person. Happy Birthday. Celebrate in anyway you can all week! You deserve it.

  2. margene says:

    PS I don’t know anything about movies, Oscar winners or not.

  3. joyknits says:

    Happy birthday and many more, dear friend! You’re not the only one whose spinning has been neglected, though I did watch a certain football game and get some done last night. Have a great week! (I agree with you & Margene on the movies!)

  4. heideho says:

    I love the way you spent your birthday. You are a dear, kind and wonderful person. Happy birthday my friend!

  5. Emiko says:

    Happy Birthday! Looks like you had a great birthday – when you get to spend it any way you want, which you did 🙂 I’m a sucker for those ads too (I liked the sneezing kitty). I’m not sure I can name 10 Oscar winning movies either – perhaps you can change it up and list your top 10 fave movies instead?

  6. Cookie says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! I’m glad you had an enjoyable weekend and got to spend time with people who matter to you.

    xo

  7. yoel says:

    I hope you had a wonderful birthday, and I am glad you were able to spend it with loved ones!

  8. Happy Belated Birthday!!! Glad to hear you are enjoying spinning. I have too, despite a loooooong break I’m really happy with both the process and the results. Imagine!

    I hear you on the 10 on Tuesday. I’m going to do some googling and see if I can find anything other than the winning picture lists. If I don’t turn something up that is helpful in 10 minutes or so I’ll move on.

  9. marianne says:

    Happy Happy HAPPY (belated, sorry) Birthday to you, Dearest! Isn’t it wonderful? Finding our truer selves and being so good with it!
    Sorry to hear about your ex-boss having a stroke, rehab, and you’re such Good Family!
    Oscars… meh. just not that into it.
    XOXOXOXOXOXOX

  10. marianne says:

    PS I love those commercials too. ;^)

  11. Diane says:

    Ah, much belated birthday wishes! But then in this house we tend to celebrate a birthday month . We justify anything we want to do but feel vaguely guilty about by “Hey, it’s my birthday this month so I get to do that!” Feel free to adopt our attitude! Seriously, so glad to hear it was a good day and here’s hoping the milestone kicks off a great period for you.

Leave a Reply

