Friday is today. Grover post!

The smell of clean dog is gone, but his fur is still very soft. I forgot to take a picture of him after his bath, but he was gorgeous.  He looked alot like the picture on my WordPress avatar.   Of course, I can’t find that picture right now, but here’s a picture of the boy and a good friend.

This is from last year at one of the first choir practices that he attended.   I didn’t get the approval of the “folks” of the sweetie in the picture with the magnificent dog, so I blurred her face just a bit.  She is lovely and the blurs have nothing to do with anything but my  lack of getting parental approval.  Doesn’t he look almost angelic?  Yes.  I know.  He is.  Except when he ignores me because he’s busy or he gets tired of being quiet at choir and grumbles.  We discussed his breed at choir Wednesday and I told them that I saw an Anatolian Shepherd dog at the Westminster dog show and that he really has a great deal of the breed characteristics and when I saw the one at the dog show I knew he (the magnificent Grover) was related.  He is not purebred because he has a beard and the breed doesn’t show a beard.  What he does have is the independent thinking that is part of the breed.  They are bred to make decisions because they are not sheep herders they are herd guarders.  In the Anatolian mountain range, these dogs protect their herds and herders from predators.  They have been known (in numbers) to kill bears.  I have a great deal of respect for the breed, but my pup is still a snookums and a child-lover and a damned good friend.  I just know that he is stronger than I am, but not fearless.  He can be a big coward if he feels I will protect him (and, I will), so that part of the Anatolian Shepherd dog breed is missing, too.

My soundtrack for the day?  One of the most annoying (in my opinion) songs ever written.  I cracked up when I watched this.   Honestly?  I couldn’t make it all the way through.   Here’s Donny Osmond and “Puppy Love”.

Have a wonderful weekend.  I’m hoping the weather is good enough to go for walks.  The pup and I are sick unto death of winter.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Friday is today. Grover post!

  1. margene says:

    We’re just getting a bit of winter. I hope it warms up in your part of the world. Grover is a darling and he’s your good buddy, that’s what counts. I’m not touching that video with a ten foot pole!

  2. joyknits says:

    Sounds like it’s supposed to warm up, so I guess we’ll have damp dogs instead of chilly dogs this weekend 😉 Have a good one!

  3. heideho says:

    For the love of all things holy, I’m hoping that this song doesn’t stick in my head all day. Grover is such a sweet fellow!

  4. marianne says:

    Hee, Snoooookums and he looks every bit the part,eh? I love reading about The Magnificent Grover, I love him so.
    holy moly, got all gushy didn’t I. :^)
    Happy Friday and Happy Weekend, Sweeeeetums.

  5. Cookie says:

    Such a magnificent boy.

    xo

  6. Emiko says:

    Whoa, I’m glad I didn’t read your post until the end of the day, because it’s bad enough having to go in to work, but to have that song running through my head would’ve been torture LOL 😉

    It’s freaking arse cold over here, so I as long as I can move my fingers, I’ll be knitting this weekend. I was happy that I got to use my new mittens these past few days. Wishing you a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

