And, I don’t even know what I did!

This is the end of a godawful mess I made with handspun. It was so tangled it took me three evenings and too many knots to get it down to this. My advice? Never ever try to wind your yarn off the bobbin without a niddy noddy or swift or something that can control the mess.  I got cocky.  Won’t happen again.  I refuse to allow myself to start spinning anything else until I get this mess undone.  It’s close.

I’ll bet you’re on needles and pins about the dishwasher.  There’s a story(isn’t there always).   Friday morning I opened the refrigerator and pulled out my O.J. and it felt a tad warmish.  I opened the freezer and it looked like things were starting to thaw.  I opened the fridge again and felt the cheese.  Room temperature.  My first thought was “Oh, Sh*t!*l#@!”.  I got ready for work and before leaving I turned the temperature control to the coldest on the dial.  I know.  I know.  At lunch I came home and could smell food spoiling when I opened the front door.  I let the pup out and went to the refrigerator and realized I was screwed.  The food was spoiling and my clever trick of turning the temp all the way hadn’t worked, so I showed all the maturity of a cranky 13 year old and slammed the fridge door shut, causing a perfectly lovely unopened brand new bottle of vodka to tumble down and shatter on the floor.  I cannot tell you how much that pleased me.  I swept up the glass and vodka as best I could and put Grover’s water bowl in a different place, thus assuring he would go nowhere near it, shut off the other kitchen entrance and went back to work.  About 45 minutes before quitting time there was nothing going on so I asked my boss if I could leave a bit early to empty out my refrigerator and throw all the food away.  He just smiled at me and asked me if I was just feeling appliance lucky these days.  I got home and tossed everything in the refrigerator.  I opened the freezer and had started pulling things out when the darned thing kicked on.  I knew then that it wasn’t the compressor, so I decided I would try one more trick.  I unplugged the refrigerator and plugged it back in.  I rebooted it.  Damned if it didn’t work.  I know I’m on borrowed time, but I was thrilled I was given a chance to actually shop around and find one I like and can afford.  Of course, the fridge is empty and shiny clean and will stay fairly empty until I acquire a new one.  This on the day before and day of the dishwasher delivery.  I took the Bud out for a walk early Saturday and came home and waited for the phone call telling me that I was going to see them around a certain time.  I was thinking A.M. or P.M.  By 11:30 a.m. I had heard nothing and got no satisfaction from the lady I called asking about the delivery.  The store owner called me about 11:40 and apologized profusely for not calling me sooner and said they would be there between 1:30 and 4:00.  Oh joy.  I ran like a crazy woman to the grocery store to replenish my OJ and a few other essentials and raced home to wait.  They showed up about 3:45 and it took them 45 minutes to install the dishwasher.  I’m thrilled.  I ran it on Saturday night and it did a pretty good job.  The dishes I was expecting it to clean had been in the sink for 3 days so I don’t think I gave it much of a chance.  I’ll let you know what I think after I’ve run a full load later this week.

I have a picture of my Lenten roses.  They are particularly spectacular this year.

Have a wonderful Monday and here’s my soundtrack for this day.  This has been stuck in my head off and on for a week or so.  The Vogues and “Five O’Clock World”.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to And, I don’t even know what I did!

  1. marianne says:

    OY
    How’s that go? if it’s not one thing it’s another..? interesting that it started up again, rebooted… :^) now if only I could reboot myself ;^)
    damn. the vodka. the acts that go with the maturity of a cranky 13 year old never bodes well. ever. sigh.
    Your Lenten roses are Lovely. I need to get a bit more firm with my neighbour across the street and get a start from hers :^D
    Welcome to Monday, Sweets xox

  2. margene says:

    Oh my dear! I hate it when life becomes a chocolate mess. At least you have more spring than we do. The poor jonquils were laid flat by heavy wet snow and they were the only thing around in full bloom.
    Good luck with the *&$# fridge!

  3. joyknits says:

    Glad you got your dishwasher up and running, but what a bummer about the fridge! Hope that won’t be too painful to get straightened out. Love the Lenten Roses – I’ve never tried them, but think I might have to … hugs!

  4. Emiko says:

    I hate when appliances start to go kaput around the same time. Maybe we just have to go back to the good ole days and have root cellars and “ice” boxes, lol 🙂

    Well I’m glad you got the fridge working for now so that you can take your time and not feel rushed to replace something that is needed in the kitchen.
    And don’t forget to replace that vodka so you can enjoy a nice drink after all this 🙂

  5. Cookie says:

    Oh no! I’m so sorry, sweetie. I hate it when the appliances decide to be troublesome.

    xo

  6. heideho says:

    Stupid refrigerator! I hope it holds out for quite awhile with the fix. LOVE the yarn color and the Lentin Roses are elegant. Sounds like you need some more vodka.

  7. yoel says:

    Bleagh. It’s amazing how fridges never poop out at the end of a grocery cycle, when there’s just the ketchup and mustard left.

Leave a Reply

