You know what we need?

I’m waiting. What do we need??????  I think the original line was “a five cent cigar”, but I could be, and probably am, wrong.  The title that has had more hits than any other post of mine?  A reference to a Pink Floyd song.  I bet that disappoints those folk all to heck when they stumble onto my blog.

I had a lovely weekend.  Did you?  I love living life loose and free.  I always have.  Being available so that when a friend calls and wants to show you their new house after helping you set up for Room at the Inn, you can just say yes.  I’ve been booking myself a little too tightly lately and it is showing in the blog and in the Grover.  I kept thinking he was sick, but I really think it’s arthritis and something else.

Last week we had not walked because I was having joint pain and being an old fud.  I took the boy to camp on Tuesday and when I picked him up they told me he had started two fights and was taken out of playtime.  That is so not like the boy, but I figured it was because of the not walking so we started walking more.  He has seemed better.  Now, he doesn’t want to go outside.  I’m beginning to think that I’m overthinking everything (as we all know it’s a tendency I have).  It’s been hot here.  The temps went from 60 to 90 starting on Thursday and by Friday the air was on in the house all the time and I couldn’t get the boy out after our walks.  So, as I can already tell by my writing, I’m fussing.  I have been concerned and watching him because of an old memory that came roaring out to greet me during one of my overthinking periods.  My beloved aunt, George, and Uncle Don had a beautiful wonderful beloved St. Bernard called Nana.  I loved that dog so much, but one summer we went to visit and she was penned up and growled and barked viciously at us.  George told us that Nana had just turned mean and they were no longer able to trust her.  So, everything Grover did last week was analyzed and overthunk.   My Mom used to call it “borrowing trouble”.  You’re looking at the Queen of it.

What I think is that with all my overthinking he has noticed a slight change in my attitude and is behaving in reaction to that.  He is a dog after all.  So, now, all I can or should or need to do is love him and keep him in line and walk him.   I think we’re gonna take this week off of camp.  We will go to choir on Wednesday because he does love it so, and so do I.   Then, we’re just gonna play it loose and easy and go from there.  Sounds like a plan to me.

No knitting or spinning because I’ve been outside working on the yard.  After holding the pruners, etc., my hands ache and I can’t spin or knit, so the yard work has got to get done so I can get back to fun stuff.

Have a great Monday and here’s my soundtrack for the day.  This has absolutely nothing to do with anything, but it’s CCR from Woodstock and “Born on the Bayou”.  Good version, too.  Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to You know what we need?

  1. margene says:

    Our pets know when we’re wound too tight, they react to our behavior and its likely your change causes his. Sounds like you know what to do and how to fix the problem. Good work! Happy Monday to you and Grover. Keep on chuglin’.

  2. heideho says:

    Poor Grover! Poor Cindy! I wish there was a pet-thought translator available. That is a crazy-fast change in the temperature. Slow down and enjoy yourselves as much as possible.

  3. marianne says:

    Oh dear, Grover, and the attitude. I hope he’s just having a bit of the cranky because yeah, I’m the Queen of It in this Realm. Sending you both good thoughts. You’re such a good Mom.
    Yes, mercy, the high temps, TOO SOON! we had convection oven weather last week, crazy hot wind. but it’s lovely this morning, 60s.
    Wish I could find my damned personal teleporter, I’d come help out in the yard, I know all about that stuff, the hard work, tired hands/arms.
    Light and Loose. that DOES sound like a Plan! xox

  4. joyknits says:

    I know the pets pick up on our moods – hope you’re both doing better soon! The last few days have been really rugged with the instant summer-mode thing. Wish we were a little bit closer so we could do the yard stuff together ;o)

  5. Cookie says:

    My guess was a HUGE vodka tonic, but that’s just me. ;^)

    He’ll be fine, love. Just keep on course and he’ll adjust to match you. This is such a hard time of year. He’ll come around. He’s a boy and they always do. ;^)

    xoxox

  6. I’m sure Grover is fine and just picking up on your stress. I totally understand the overthinking though. I’m totally prone to that myself! I hope the week continues to improve for your both.

  7. marianne says:

    are you alright? xox

Leave a Reply

