Sometimes it’s just best to keep on keepin’ on

I was busy last week. Really busy. But, I also think I didn’t find that time to blog because I was working through a couple of things. When I have emotional problems to ponder about, I appear to shut down and close out, but that’s not really what I’m doing. I’m insulating the process. It’s taken me years to figure out the process, but there, you have it.
I was dealing with some work related issues I’m having. Nothing horribly serious, but things I need to work out if I plan on keeping this job. The other was Mom. Yesterday was her birthday and mother’s day. I was having a mini-pity party when I remembered her last birthday in her latest life.  It was not pleasant.  It was in the hospital.  She was trying to continue when continuing was becoming the last option possible.   I miss her every day, but I’m grateful for all the time I had with her and it’s comforting to know she lives on in my heart.

So, the knitting?  Not so much, but I’m currently knitting warshrags for a friend.  She’s having her kitchen renovated and I am knitting her three warshrags to go with her new kitchen.  Mindless knitting.  I’m anxious to get back to my WIP’s and will get pictures when there are knitting shots worth taking.

Spinning?  Dang.  I was on a roll and just came to a screeching halt.  I have drafted fiber (from Rachel’s Dyeabolical Yarns) and just need to get on with it. I’m looking forward to spinning that fiber and then, Joan’s Cupcake Fiber Co. roving that I purchased.

But, the yard work has gotten in the way.  Now, the heat is building.  Upper 80’s.  So, I will be forced back inside during the heat of the day and working outside later.  That’s good for me.

Grover had his yearly physical on Saturday.  He loves to be loved so the vet’s office was a wonderful outing.  The Grove weighs 123.9.  The vet informed me that he really should weigh between 105 and 110 for his build.  We have been working on the weight with the boy and he’s down from last fall (127), so I think we’re on the right track.   He also got his yearly shots (we need those to be legal and so that he can go to day camp), so Saturday after we went to the vet’s the boy went to bed.   Sunday a.m. arrived and he was bright and eager to get out for his walk.  I’m always a little concerned after vaccinations.   Sometimes (ok, quite often) I have my conspiracy-theorist/paranoid personality traits on speed dial.  Here’s an action shot of him coming up the deck stairs for a “cookie”.

My soundtrack for today?  How about another Elton John oldiebutgoodie?   Here’s “Take Me to the Pilot” from 1970.  I will forever be impressed by anyone who can play piano and sing.  It’s always been one or the other for me and I’m not even that good at either!

Have a great Monday!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sometimes it’s just best to keep on keepin’ on

  1. margene says:

    Sending loving hugs. It’s OK to mourn your Mom. Pity parties are acceptable once a year and for short periods of time.
    Get this…it’s raining…three days of rain. Flooding expected in places, but not like the Mississippi. But, still….

  2. marianne says:

    Also sending loving hugs and yes, what Margene wrote. I figured yesterday would be a tough one for you and thought of you several times.
    The emotional pondering? same scenario here. absolutely.
    Holy moly, Big Boy!! Glad all went well at vets and afterward. Grover is such a beautiful boy :^)
    It’s Monday. XOXOX

  3. joyknits says:

    Sounds like some mindless knitting is just what you need – hang in there (you know where to find me if you want to talk!). Gorgeous Grover’s a BIG boy!
    Many hugs!!!

  4. Rachel says:

    Knit on through all things. Sometimes a little pity party is just what the doctor ordered. It’s part of healing and figuring stuff out in your head. Big hugs to you and Grover. I’m with Joy. It sounds like mindless knitting is just what you need.

Leave a Reply

