In the beginning was the word. After that, it gets kinda murky.

I am finding this aging thing to be a major disappointment in so many ways. I think my mother lied to me. Either that or she was using irony and it went over my head.   I was watching the end of “The Mentalist” on Saturday night and the archenemy of our intrepid hero quoted a William Blake poem that is a personal favorite.  Why, oh why, do television heroes have “arch” enemies?  Isn’t there enough plain old evil and cruelty without having to be an arch criminal?  I guess everyone wants to excel at something.  Anyway, the poem is “Tyger Tyger”.  I used to be able to quote the whole poem.  On Saturday evening, I couldn’t even quote the part that the archenemy quoted on the show.  I’m blaming age.  On the surface it sounds benign, but if you think about it,  it’s just another sign of too many dead brain cells crowding up there in the old cranium.  I also have a personal theory (which, of course, is right) that the more we cram into our brains and the tighter the fit gets, the poor information that went in first falls out of the ear it first went into.  After a while it all gets jumbled together and newer stuff falls out because some of the old stuff gets stuck in corners.

Other than that, it was a good weekend.  Rainy and chilly and absolutely no yard work.  You would think I hate yard work from my ramblings.  You would be right.  I love gardening.  I abhor yard work which in my vernacular means cleaning out crud and beating back weeds.  Still, it was nice to stay away from it all for just a bit.

This is a potholder I made for my BSIL.  I do love the edging, but it’s conservative color-wise, because that’s how our girl rolls.  I think she would have loved it no matter, but I knew she would really like something like this.  That, my friends, is the end of the finished objects for now.

So, to send you on your way, here’s another song cluttering my brain.  This week I’m going to share  different versions of the same song.  It’s a classic……..”Who do you Love?”.  Today, it’s by The Misunderstood circa mid ’60s, I believe.  It was the first version of this song I had ever heard.

Have a great Monday all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to In the beginning was the word. After that, it gets kinda murky.

  1. Cookie says:

    I think they lie to us about getting older because I would have remembered if someone told me what my 40s were going to be like. o.O I’m turning into those annoying bingdotcom ads. One thought leads to another thought which leads to me singing some stupid song or hurting myself trying to remember the name of the kid that sat in front of me in the 3rd grade. FFS!

    Lovely pot holder.

    xoxox

  2. marianne says:

    Oh, how about that? We seem to have Very Similar Theories! imagine that. I know, you’re shocked, right?
    Love the potholder! One of these days I am going to grow up and learn how to do that crochet in the round shit. really.
    You are brilliant. xox

  3. Sophanne says:

    I often find myself coming to terms with forgotten things-as in “I used to be able to remember that. Now I don’t. Good. That’s one less thing I’ll have to remember.”

  4. margene says:

    I have no memory of that version of the song. I enjoyed hearing today, however.

  5. joyknits says:

    Overload, pure & simple – at least that’s my story and I’m stickin’ to it 😉

Leave a Reply

